Youth League: Melita, Pembroke and Vittoriosa win sections — Decisive match in Section A

melita-minors-section-winners-bMelita, Pembroke Athleta and Vittoriosa Stars won Sections B, C and D respectively of the Youth League with a clash between Hamrun Spartans and Valletta at the Victor Tedesco Stadium on Wednesday, kick-off at 20:00, being decisive for Section A.

Hamrun, who were promoted from Section B last season, lead the way in Section A with 37 points, two ahead of Valletta and therefore a draw would be enough for them to secure the title.

Melita won Section B ahead of Naxxar Lions.

Photos: Copyright © Joe Borg / MFA

The Amateurs placed on top with 41 points, followed by Naxxar on 36, Sliema and Marsaxlokk 32, San Gwann 29, Balzan 27, Rabat 26, Attard 17, Zebbug 16 and Senglea 0.

Zebbug Rangers and Senglea Athletic were therefore relegated to Section C.

pembroke-minors-section-c-winners2013From Section C, Pembroke Athleta and St. Venera Lightnings were promoted to Section B as section winners and runners-up respectively. Lija Athletic and Dingli Swallows were relegated.

Pembroke finished on top with 34 points, followed by St. Venera on 33, Mellieha 32, Msida 31, Zejtun 22, Tarxien and Gudja 21, Mgarr 18, Lija 17 and Dingli 13.

Lija Athletic and Dingli Swallows were therefore relegated to Section D.

vittoriosa-minors-section-d-winners2013In Section D, extra-time and penalties in a championship decider were necessary to determine the winner after Vittoriosa Stars and Santa Lucia ended their commitments on level points. In fact following a 1-1 draw at the end of the ninety minutes and extra-time, the Stars emerged as winners 4-2 on penalties.

Santa Lucia and Vittoriosa finished on the 40-point mark, followed by Zurrieq on 38, Birzebbuga 37, Sirens 36, Mqabba 34, Kirkop 30, Fgura 27, Luqa 26 and Kalkara on 20 points. The bottom eight teams – Marsa (19 points), Siggiewi (19), Xghajra (18), Mtarfa (16), Gzira (12), St. George’s (10), Gharghur (9) and Ghaxaq (8) – will be playing in Section E next season as the number of teams in Section D will be reduced to ten and all remaining teams will play in Section E.