National team arrives in Yerevan

malta-in-armenia130605pzcThe national team arrived in Yerevan on Wednesday morning in view of next Friday’s 2014 FIFA World Cup qualifier against Armenia which will be played at the ‘Republican Stadium named after Vazgen Sargsyan’, kick-off at 18:00 CET.

The contingent which was made up of twenty-two players, apart from the technical staff, MFA officials and guests and journalists, arrived in Yerevan early in the morning. The team had its first training session in the afternoon at the FC Banants complex.

Another training session is scheduled for Thursday morning following a press conference which will be addressed by national coach Pietro Ghedin and a player.

The squad which travelled to Yerevan is made up of:
The players are:
goalkeepers Justin Haber (Birkirkara), Glenn Zammit (Sliema), Mario Muscat (Hibs);
defenders Jacob Borg (Balzan), Alex Muscat (Sliema), Clayton Failla (Hibs), Luke Dimech (Valletta), Jonathan Caruana (Valletta), Justin Grioli (Tarxien), Clifford Gatt Baldacchino (Sliema), Ryan Camilleri (Hibs);
midfielders Roderick Briffa (Valletta), Edward Herrera (Birkirkara), Gareth Sciberras (Birkirkara), Paul Fenech (Birkirkara), Rowen Muscat (Birkirkara), Shaun Bajada (Sliema);
forwards Jean Pierre Mifsud Triganza (Birkirkara), Michael Mifsud (Valletta), Andrew Cohen (Hibs), Terence Vella (Hamrun), Andre Schembri (Omonia Nicosia).

Friday’s game will be controlled by referees from Northern Ireland, namely Arnold Hunter who will be assisted by Eammon Shanks and Richard Storey and fourth official Mark Courntey.

Photo: Copyright © Paul Zammit Cutajar / MFA

[nggallery id=481]