Youth FA Presentation Night 2012/13

yfa-presentation2013The Youth Football Association hosted its Annual Presentation Night for the 2012 – 2013 season at The Palace Hotel in Sliema, where officials, coaches and players representing all the member nurseries attending this event had the opportunity to mingle socially with each other and meet the Youth FA Council Members and MFA Officials.

Fr. Hilary Tagliaferro, started his speech by thanking the Malta FA, who during the past season continued to support the Youth FA. He also thanked all the nursery officials for their dedication to grassroots football and the beautiful game.

Photos: Copyright ©

The Youth FA President reminded those present that a couple of weeks ago we witnessed the first step of the registrations reforms, now our young players can now register with the MFA once they are 12 years old, instead of 10, as it had been for so many years. This will also pave the way for the next part of the reform, the Green Passport. It will include the personal data of the player, along with technical and physical details, as well as any movements from one Nursery to another. This passport will be the property of the parents of the child, but the Youth FA and the player’s Nursery will have a copy of all the data that it contains.

The Youth FA President concluded his speech by thanking the sponsors, APS Bank, Panini (Mr. Anastasi) and Sports Expirience for their long standing support and dedication.

Next on it was the turn for the highlight of the evening, the presentation of the various awards (listed below) by Fr. Hilary Tagliaferro (YFA President), Mr. Peter Gatt (APS Bank) and Robert Gatt (Technical Director).

Under 17 Winner Runner Up / Finalist
Section A Paola Hibs Valletta
Section B St. Andrew’s Pembroke
Section C1 Kirkop Birzebbugia W.
Section C2 Luqa Sirens
Section C3 Cottonera Sta. Venera
Knock-Out Paola Hibs Valletta
Best Player Jurgen Degabriele (Hibs) Karl Micallef (Pieta H.)
APS Play Fair Award Sirens Sta. Venera
Under 15 Winner Runner Up / Finalist
Section A Pieta Melita
Section B San Gwann Qormi
Section C1 Cottonera Mgarr
Section C2 Balzan Mqabba
Section C3 Kirkop Msida
Knock-Out Pieta Sliema
Best Player Aiden Friggieri (Sliema) Matthew Giullaumier (St. Andrew)
APS Play Fair Award Fgura / Mgarr / Sirens Sta. Venera / Luqa S.A.