Ghedin names final squad for Denmark clash

ghedin-in-bulgariaNational coach Pietro Ghedin named the final squad ahead of Friday’s 2014 FIFA World Cup qualifier against Denmark at the National Stadium.

Missing from the squad are defenders Luke Dimech and Alex Muscat who are both serving a one-match ban. Mark Scerri, who made his debut in last month’s friendly match against Azerbaijan, was not included. The only uncapped player is Justin Grioli of Balzan.

The squad is made up of:
goalkeepers Henry Bonello (Sliema), Justin Haber (Birkirkara), Andrew Hogg (Kalloni);
defenders Andrei Agius (Torres – ITA), Jacob Borg (Sliema), Ryan Camilleri (Hibs), Jonathan Caruana (Valletta), Clayton Failla (Hibs), Clifford Gatt Baldacchino (Sliema), Justin Grioli (Balzan);
midfielders Roderick Briffa (Valletta), Paul Fenech (Birkirkara), Ryan Fenech (Valletta), Edward Herrera (Birkirkara), John Mintoff (Sliema), Rowen Muscat (Birkirkara), Gareth Sciberras (Birkirkara);
forwards Andrew Cohen (Hibs), Andre Schembri (Omonia Nicosia – CYP), Michael Mifsud (unattached), Terence Vella (Birkirkara).

The Danish squad is made up of:
goalkeepers Stephan Andersen (Real Betis), Jesper Hansen (Evian Thonon Gaillard), Kasper Schmeichel (Leicester);
defenders Daniel Agger (Liverpool), Peter Ankersen (Esbjerg), Andreas Bjelland (Twente), Nicolai Boilesen (Ajax), Lars Jacobsen (Copenhagen), Simon Kjaer (Lille), Jores Okore (Aston Villa);
midfielders Leon Andreasen (Hannover), Thomas Delaney (Copenhagen), Christian Eriksen (AJax), Rasmus Falk (OB), William Kvist Jorgensen (Stuttgart), Casper Sloth (AGF), Niki Zimling (Mainz);
forwards Martin Braithwaite (Toulouse), Viktor Fischer (Ajax), Nicolai Jorgensen (Copenhagen), Michael Krohn-Dehli (Celta Vigo), Emil Larsen (OB), Simon Makienok (Brondby), Nicki Billi Nielsen (Rosenborg), Nicklas Pedersen (Gent).

Photo: Copyright © Paul Zammit Cutajar

The match will be controlled by Greek officials: referee Anastasios Sidiropoulos assisted by Christos Baltas and Michail Karsiotis and fourth official Ilias Spathas.

Malta vs Denmark will be played on Friday, kick-off at 20:00. After this game, Malta will face Bulgaria on Tuesday, also kick-off at 20:00.

For these two matches National Stadium Gates and Ticket Booths will be open at 18:30. The West C, Millennium D and F and South Stands will be used for the local fans, while Sector West A (Upper) will be reserved for the visiting fans. Millennium E will be reserved for corporate clients.

As a follow-up of the great result obtained in Yerevan last June, the Malta Football Association has for this double-fixture come up with yet another offer to the local fans. A Two-Match Loyalty Discount Ticket and by means of which fans can save as much as 25% on the single match ticket rates. Sale of these tickets from the MFA Headquarers and from end on Thursday.

Single match tickets for these two matches have been out on sale for some weeks and will be available on match day from the stadium ticket booths.

Ticket prices for all categories are as follows:
Malta vs Denmark
West Stand C – Adults €25, Children n/a
Millennium Stand – Adults €15, Children €5
South Stand – Adults €10, Children €3

Malta vs Bulgaria
West Stand C – Adults €20, Children n/a
Millennium Stand – Adults €10, Children €5
South Stand – Adults €7, Children €3

West Stand C – Adults €35, Children €15
Millennium Stand – Adults €20, Children €8
South Stand – Adults €13, Children €4