Gzira United win Powerade Cup

gzira-win-powerade-cup2013Gzira United won the Powerade Cup after defeating Zejtun Corinthians 2-1 in the final which was played at the Victor Tedesco Stadium on Saturday.

Christian Cassar converted a penalty on the 20th to put the Maroons ahead and Simon Shead doubled the score ten minutes in the second half. Adrian Carabott scored a consolation goal for Zejtun four minutes later.

Pietà Hotspurs placed third after beating Gudja United 3-0 thanks to goals by Cleavon Frendo on the 13th and Ricardo Costa on the 33rd and 64th minutes.

Hosts Hamrun Spartans took the fifth place as goals by Glenn Azzopardi and Justin Felice on 21 and 52 minutes respectively gave them a 2-1 win over neighbours Msida St. Joseph. Ariel Laudisi scored a penalty for Msida on 58 minutes.