Ghedin names final squad for clash with Czech Republic

czech-malta121012pzcNational coach Pietro Ghedin named the final squad ahead of next Friday’s 2014 FIFA World Cup qualifier against the Czech Republic at the National Stadium, Ta’ Qali, kick-off at 19:30.

There are two changes from the team which lost to Bulgaria 2-1 last month as goalkeeper Henry Bonello and Roderick Briffa replace Andrew Hogg and Andre Schembri.

Roderick Briffa missed the last game as he was serving a one-match ban. The same reason for which Andre Schembri is ruled out of Friday’s game. He returns for the Denmark clash in a week’s time.

The squad is made up of:
goalkeepers Justin Haber (Birkirkara) , Henry Bonello (Sliema);
defenders Andrei Agius (Torres – ITA), Ryan Camilleri and Clayton Failla (Hibernians), Alex Muscat (Sliema), Luke Dimech and Jonathan Caruana (Valletta), Justin Grioli (Balzan);
midfielders Roderick Briffa, Shaun Bajada and Ryan Fenech (Valletta), John Mintoff (Sliema), Edward Herrera, Gareth Sciberras, Paul Fenech and Rowen Muscat (Birkirkara);
forwards Andrew Cohen (Hibs), Terence Vella (Birkirkara), Michael Mifsud (Melbourne Heart – AUS).

Photo: Copyright © Paul Zammit Cutajar