Thirteen Premier League players suspended

20110417-114224.jpgThirteen Premier League players were handed a one-match ban by the MFA Disciplinary Commissioner after the weekend’s BOV Premier League matches.

Three Qormi players – Owen Bugeja, Alfred Effiong and Matthew Farrugia, two Rabat Ajax players – Daniel Pelaez Bellido and Diego Carrillo Pendas, two Naxxar Lions players – Evaldo Silva dos Santos and Andrew Decesare and two of Tarxien Rainbows – Andrew Agius and Marko Potezica together with Zach Muscat (Birkirkara), Jonathan Pearson (Hibs), Jonas Ekani Rodriguez (Mosta) and Jason Vandelannoite (Valletta) were all ruled out of the next round of matches in a week-and-a-half’s time.

Bugeja, Effiong and Farrugia are ruled out of Qormi’s next game against Sliema, Pelaez and Carrillo are ruled out of the game against Birkirkara who will lack Zach Muscat, Evaldo and Decesare miss the game against Floriana while Agius, Potezica and Pearson are ruled out of the derby Hibs-Tarxien. Ekani and Vandelannoite miss the clash between Mosta and Valletta.

In Division 1, Matthew Groves (Gudja), Kane Micallef (Melita), Lee Galea (Zebbug), Glenn Tanti (Zejtun) and Joseph Lia (Zurrieq) were banned for one match while Zurrieq coach David Carabott was suspended for two matches.

Joseph Rizzo of Marsa was handed a two-match ban in Division 2 with Marsaskala duo Marlon Farrugia and Ryan Cauchi both suspended for one match. San Gwann official Raymond Colombo was suspended for two matches.

In Division 3, Matthew Cassar was banned for four matches, Jacob Camilleri for three matches, Stefan Camilleri for one match and assistant coach James Camilleri for two matches. Joseph Munyao Mwema and Cleaven Mizzi (both Mtarfa) were suspended for one match.