Another twelve teams seek U*BET FA Trophy fourth round spot

FA TrophySix Premier League clubs will be among twelve teams seeking a place in the fourth round of the U*BET FA Trophy as six third round matches are in programme on Tuesday at three different venues.

Premier League clubs enter this stage after being awarded a bye in the first two rounds which are reserved to First, Second and Third Division and Gozitan clubs.

Holders Hibernians take on Second Division side Senglea Athletic in one of the two matches in programme at the Centenary Stadium. The Paolites are currently joint-leaders in the BOV Premier League after suffering their first league defeat on Saturday while Senglea are currently seventh on 13 points from nine matches and are coming from a positive run of six matches without defeat. Senglea reached this stage after defeating another Second Division side Kirkop United 4-2 after extra-time.

The winner would meet Pietà Hotspurs in the next round.

In the first game at the Centenary Stadium, Naxxar Lions take on First Division side Gudja United. The Lions are currently sixth in the Premier League with fourteen points from twelve matches but lost five of the last eight games. Gudja, on the other hand, are joint-third from bottom in Division 1 with seven points from six matches. Gudja reached this stage after eliminating another First Division side Zejtun Corinthians on penalties.

The winner would face Floriana or Victoria Hotspurs in the fourth round.

At the Sirens Stadium, Second Division side Mdina Knights take on Gozitans Kercem Ajax. The Knights are currently tenth in Division 2 with eight points from nine matches, losing three out of the last four matches. Kercem, on the other hand, are fifth with eleven points from eight matches in the GFA First Division. In the previous rounds, Kercem beat St. Lawrence Spurs 6-2 in the first round and Third Division side Luqa St. Andrew’s 2-1 in the second round while Mdina defeated Second Division side Fgura United 2-1.

The winner would meet Rabat Ajax or Sirens in the next round.

BOV Third Division leaders Sirens host Rabat Ajax in the second match on Tuesday. The St. Paul’s Bay side won eight of the nine matches played in Division 3 and scored an average of four goals per game, suffering just three so far. They reached this stage after beating Sannat Lions 10-1 and Second Division side Marsa 1-0. Rabat Ajax, on the other hand, lie at the bottom of the table in the Premier League with four points from twelve matches.

The winner would face Mdina Knights or Kercem Ajax in the fourth round.

At the Victor Tedesco Stadium, Birzebbuga St. Peter’s take on Balzan. The Saints are currently sixth in Division 1 with ten points from seven matches. They qualified for the third round after beating another First Division side Msida St. Joseph 1-0. Balzan, on the other, hand, are joint-seventh in the BOV Premier League with twelve points from twelve matches.

In the fourth round, the winner would meet the winner of the clash between Sliema Wanderers and Zebbug Rangers.

The other third round clash in programme on Tuesday is the all-Premier clash between Birkirkara and Vittoriosa Stars. Birkirkara joined Hibernians on top after a 4-2 win over Rabat during the weekend. Vittoriosa are third from bottom on nine points. Earlier this month, Birkirkara defeated Vittoriosa 2-0 in a league game.

The winner would be meeting St. Andrews in the fourth round.

Tuesday 26
18:00 Naxxar Lions vs Gudja United (Centenary Stadium)
20:15 Hibernians vs Senglea Athletic (Centenary Stadium)
18:00 Mdina Knights vs Kercem Ajax (Sirens Stadium)
20:15 Sirens vs Rabat Ajax (Sirens Stadium)
18:00 Birzebbuga St. Peter’s vs Balzan (Victor Tedesco Stadium)
20:15 Birkirkara vs Vittoriosa Stars (Victor Tedesco Stadium)

The other third round matches will be played on Wednesday as follows:

Wednesday 27
18:00 Mellieha vs Tarxien Rainbows (Centenary Stadium)
20:15 Sliema Wanderers vs Zebbug Rangers (Centenary Stadium)
18:00 Floriana vs Victoria Hotspurs (Sirens Stadium)
20:15 Qormi vs SK Victoria Wanderers (Sirens Stadium)
18:00 Melita vs Valletta (Victor Tedesco Stadium)
20:15 Lija Athletic vs Mosta (Victor Tedesco Stadium)