Eleven Premier League players suspended

National StadiumEleven Premier League players were handed a one-match ban by the MFA Disciplinary Commissioner after the BOV Premier League matches which were played during the weekend.

The players are Jhonnattann Benites da Conceicao and Ryan Scicluna (Birkirkara), Emmanuel Ibok Edet (Floriana), Andre Rocha da Silva (Naxxar), Leighton Grech (Qormi), Moises Avila Perez (Rabat), Steve Bonnici and Ronaille Calheira Seara (Tarxien), Steve Borg and Ryan Fenech (Valletta) and Jose Filipe Caldeira Aguiar (Vittoriosa).

Sliema goalkeepers’ coach Mark Vella and Valletta assistant coach Gilbert Agius were, on the other hand, both banned for one year.

Jhonnattan, Ryan Scicluna and Ibok Edet will miss Birkirkara vs Floriana. Valletta and Tarxien could not count on Borg and Fenech, Ronaille and Bonnici respectively; Avila Perez and Leighton Grech are ruled out of Rabat vs Qormi while Andre Rocha and Filipe Aguiar will miss Vittoriosa vs Naxxar.

Meanwhile in Division 1, Andre White and Emiliano Polanco (Gzira), Jake Grech and Michael Valenzia (Melita), Ian Schembri (Msida), Anthony Bonello (St. George’s) and Alan Tabone (Zebbug) were all banned for one match.