Qormi scrape through to U*BET FA Trophy quarter-finals

UBET-FA-TROPHY-logoQormi – losing finalists in the last two editions of the U*BET FA Trophy – secured a place in the quarter-finals after defeating Tarxien Rainbows 6-5 on penalties in one of the two fourth round matches at the Victor Tedesco Stadium on Tuesday.

The score at the end of the ninety minutes was still goalless and will no goals being scored at the end of the extra-time, penalties had to decide the issue.

In the penalty shoot-out, Triston Caruana, Alfred Effiong, Dylan Pirotta, Duncan Pisani, Roderick Sammut and Emerson Vella scored for Qormi; William Barbosa, Ronaille Calheira Seara, Karl Pulo, Fernando Lopes Alcantara and Marko Potezica for Tarxien.

The penalties by Carlo Mamo, Jorge Santos Silva and Luca Martinelli were parried by Qormi goalkeeper Matthew Farrugia while for Qormi, Leighton Grech’s effort hit the upright and Roderick Bajada hit wide.

QORMI Matthew Farrugia, Duncan Pisani, Roderick Sammut, Owen Bugeja, Emerson Vella, Triston Caruana, Christian Terribile, Leighton Grech, Alfred Effiong, Leonardo Gabrieli (106′ Dylan Pirotta).
TARXIEN Nicky Vella, Carlo Mamo, Manuel Caruana (117′ Andrew Agius), Fernando Lopes Alcantara, Luca Martinelli, Marko Potezica, Ronaille Calheira Seara, William Barbosa, Ryan Sammut, Karl Pulo, Jorge Santos Silva.
Referee: Glenn Tonna
Assistant Referees: Chris Francalanza, Duncan Sultana
Fourth Official: Andre Arciola

Meanwhile BOV Premier League leaders Birkirkara secured a place in the quarter-finals of the U*BET FA Trophy as they defeated First Division side St. Andrews 4-0.

Ryan Camenzuli put the Stripes ahead on the 12th minute and Matheus Bissi da Silva doubled the score on the 32nd. Jhonnattann Benites da Conceicao made it 3-0 on 73 minutes and Ryan Camenzuli sealed the issue with a fourth goal four minutes from time.

ST. ANDREWS Matthew Towns, Neil Chetcuti, Brian Said, Jonathan Briscoe White, Dale Micallef (83′ Kain Roomes), Andrew Amato, Joseph Farrugia, Matthew Guillaumier (71′ Nicki Vella Petroni), Alex Podda (56′ Kieran Nwoko), Emiliano Lattes, Trayo Grozev.
B’KARA Reuben Gauci, Ryan Camenzuli, Alejandro Mendoza, Matheus Bissi da Silva, Zach Muscat, Gareth Sciberras, Frank Temile (76′ Joseph Zerafa), Ryan Scicluna (67′ Jhonnattann Benites da Conceicao), Haruna Shola Shodiya (81′ Russell Gatt De Raffaele), Daniel Zerafa, Terence Vella.
Referee: Mario Apap
Assistant Referees: William Debattista, Paul Apap
Fourth Official: Sandro Spiteri

The last five fourth round matches will be played on Wednesday as follows:

18:00 Hibernians vs Pietà H. (Centenary Stadium)
20:15 Floriana vs Naxxar L. (Centenary Stadium)
18:00 Kercem A. vs Rabat A. (Kercem Ajax Ground)
18:00 Sliema W. vs Balzan (Victor Tedesco Stadium)
20:15 Valletta vs Mosta (Victor Tedesco Stadium)