U*BET FA Trophy: Holders Hibernians eliminated by Pietà

FA TrophyHolders Hibernians were eliminated from the U*BET FA Trophy as a goal by Raphel Alain Kooh Sohna gave First Division side Pietà Hotspurs a shock win over the Paolites.

Kooh Sohna scored the all-important goal for the Hotspurs seven minutes from time to push Hibernians into deeper trouble after losing four of their last five league matches.

HIBS Daniel Balzan, Matthew Bartolo, Jonathan Pearson, Scott Chircop, Bjorn Kristensen, Jackson di Lima Siqueira, Clayton Failla, Edison Luis dos Santos, Jurgen Degabriele (78′ Brandon Muscat), Obinna Obiefule, Zoran Levnajic.
PIETÀ David Cassar, Cain Attard, Orosco Anonam, Christian Grech, Jurgen Pisani, Luciano Mutasi, Jonathan Zarate (77′ Jeremiah Ani), Quilin Refalo, Andrew Spiteri (66′ Matthew Borg), Kyle Cesare (52′ Ricardo Costa), Raphael Kooh Sohna
Referee: Trustin Farrugia Cann
Assistant Referees: Yurgen Spiteri, David Castillo
Fourth Official: Clayton Pisani

At the Kercem Ajax Stadium, Rabat Ajax defeated hosts Kercem Ajax 5-1.

Diego Carrillo put the Magpies ahead one minute from the end of the first half. Although they had Manuel Tabone sent off early in the second half, Kercem equalised through John Camilleri on 56 minutes. Quick goals by Patrick Borg and Malcolm Licari on 68 and 69 minutes restored the lead for Rabat who increased the lead further thanks to Sorin Oproiescu on 78 minutes and Ryan Micallef three minutes from time.

KERCEM Leonard Camilleri, Petar Khumyurdzhiev, Keith Bonello, Mario Mifsud, Aaron Buttigieg, Ian Xuereb (74′ Sabri Rais), Manuel Tabone, Andrew Mizzi, John Camilleri, Joseph Chetcuti (82′ Owen Spiteri), Karol Mifsud.
RABAT Pavle Velimirovic, Shaun Gauci, David Azzopardi, Ivan Carapic, Patrick Borg, Joseph Caruana, Malcolm Licari (84′ Chris Vella), Sorin Virgil Oproiescu, Daniel Pelaez Bellido (46′ Jonathan Bajada), Ryan Micallef, Diego Carrillo Pendas (81′ Aidan Azzopardi).
Referee: Sandro Spiteri
Assistant Referees: Mitchell Scerri, Sammy Attard
Fourth Official: Adrian Azzopardi

Sliema Wanderers secured a place in the quarter-finals after defeating Balzan on penalties following a 1-1 draw at the end of the ninety minutes and extra-time at the Victor Tedesco Stadium.

Admir Vladavic put Sliema ahead on 25 minutes when he converted a penalty but eight minutes from the end of the first half, Jose Luis Armario Negrin equalised.

With no more goals being scored during the second half, the game went into extra-time bit this was not enough to determine the winner.

In the penalty shoot-out, Balzan scored seven through Fabio Vignaroli, Pedro dos Santos Calcado, Lucas Ramon dos Santos, Edison Bilbao Zarate, Jose Luis Armario Negrin, Kurt Magro and Justin Grioli with Andrew Scicluna’s effort neutralised by Glenn Zammit. On the other hand, Sliema scored the eight penalties by Trevor Cilia, Admir Vladavic, Stanley Ohawuchi, Clifford Gatt Baldacchino, Ivan Woods, Mattias Muchardi, Stefano Bianciardi and Alex Muscat.

SLIEMA Glenn Zammit, Alex Muscat, Jacob Borg (73′ Trevor Cilia), John MIntoff, Mark Scerri (90′ Beppe Muscat), Admir Vladavic, Stanley Ohawuchi, Abubaker Bello-Osagie (51′ Ivan Woods), Clifford Gatt Baldacchino, Mattias Muchardi, Stefano Biancardi.
BALZAN Manuel Bartolo, Andrew Scicluna, Justin Grioli, Steve Bezzina, Lucas Ramon dos Santos, Fabio Vignaroli, Dylan Grima (91′ Kurt Magro), Pedro dos Santos Calcado, Edison Bilbao Zarate, Lydon Micallef (113′ Godwin McKay), Jose Luis Armario Negrin.
Referee: Chris Lautier
Assistant Referees: Edward Spiteri, Roberto Vella
Fourth Official: Alan Mario Sant

Valletta left it for the second half to score three and defeat Mosta 3-0 at the Victor Tedesco Stadium.

After a goalless first half, Valletta managed to vreak the deadlock on 56 minutes thanks to Abdelkarim Nafti. Nafti doubled the score five minutes later and deep into stoppage time, Lateef Elford-Alliyu sealed the issue with a third goal.

VALLETTA Pietro Marino, Jonathan Caruana, Ian Azzopardi, Steve Borg, Ryan Fenech, Roderick Briffa, Jean Paul Mifsud Triganza (74′ Lateef Elford Alliyu), Oscar Reyes Sanchez, Hamza Barry (70′ Shaun Bajada), Aziz Corr Nyang (Edmond Agius 85’), Abdelkarim Nafti
MOSTA Omar Borg, Tyrone Farrugia, Mark Brincat, Ishmael Grech, Ryan Grech, Kurt Zammit (58′ Ricardo Faria), Mano Micallef, Rodriguez Ekani, Diego Pereira (79′ James Brincat), Lukas Duriska, Gianmarco Piccioni
Referee: Paul Caruana
Assistant Referees: Ingmar Spiteri, Thomas Debono
Fourth Official: Fyodor Zammit

A goal by Serbian midfielder Milan Vignjevic on the 64th minute enabled Naxxar Lions to knock-out Floriana off the competition as they beat them 1-0 at the Centenary Stadium. Naxxar therefore were quick to bounce back after the heavy 1-7 defeat to Birkirkara.

FLORIANA Daniel Hanford, Ibok Edet, Steve Pisani, Igor Coronado, Diogo Pinheiro de Souza, Darrell Baldacchino, Clyde Borg, Joseph Borg, Brooke Farrugia, Rodrigo Aguiar, Isaac Galea (69′ Dylan Kokavessis).
NAXXAR Julian Azzopardi, Victor Bellia, Angus Buhagiar (82′ Daren Falzon), Ryan Gilmour Cassar, Andrew Decesare, Thiago Lopes De Souza, David Alejandro Reano, Andrè Rocha Da Silva, Terrence Scerri, Filip Stojanovic (77′ Mattia Del Negro), Milan Vignjevic (67′ Gilmar da Silva Ribeiro)
Referee: Malcolm Spiteri
Assistant Referees: Alan Camilleri, Albert Borg Cardona
Fourth Official: Philip Farrugia

The eight quarter-finalists – Birkirkara, Naxxar Lions, Qormi, Rabat Ajax, Sliema Wanderers, Valletta and First Division side Gzira United and Pietà Hotspurs – now await the draws which will be held on Monday at noon.