Five Premier League players suspended

20110417-114224.jpgFive Premier League players were handed a one-match ban by the MFA Disciplinary Commissioner following the weekend’s matches.

Jorge da Silva Pereira (Qormi), Ryan Micallef (Rabat), Stanley Ohawuchi (Sliema), Edmond Agius (Valletta) and Clive Brincat (Vittoriosa) are ruled out of the weekend’s matches.

Ohawuch and Agius will be missing the clash between Sliema and Valletta. Jorginho is ruled out of the game against Floriana, Ryan Micallef will miss the game against Naxxar while Clive Brincat is ruled out of the clash with Tarxien.

In Division 1, Claudio Calleja (Birzebbuga), George Chircop, Anthony Ewurum and Mauro Brincat (Gudja), Yanis Tonna and Fredrick Tabone (Gzira), Stacey Vella (Msida), Raphael Alain Kooh Sohna (Pietà), Neil Chetcuti (St. Andrews), Anthony Bonello and Abdul Razak Mendy (St. George’s), Melvin Farrugia (Zebbug), Andre Farrugia and Adrian Carabott (Zejtun) were suspended for one match while Lija Athletic president Jesmond Caruana was banned for two matches.

Bronwen Bugeja and Marlon Farrugia (Marsaskala), Eric Sciberras (Mdina), Mark Psaila and Omar Farrugia (Mqabba) and Josef Cutajar (San Gwann) were suspended for one match in Division 2 while Marlon Grech (Marsaxlokk), Jonathan Muscat (Mgarr), Andre Formosa and Mark Ellul (Qrendi), Abner dos Santos (Swieqi) and Andrew Vella (Xghajra) were handed a one-match ban in Division 3.