Nine Premier League players suspended

National StadiumNine Premier League players were handed a one-match ban by the MFA Disciplinary Commissioner following the weekend’s matches.

Justin Grioli (Balzan), Clyde Borg (Floriana), Beppe Muscat, Clifford Gatt Baldacchino and Paltemio Barbetti (Sliema), Jonathan Caruana and Luke Dimech (Valletta), Jose Filipe Caldeira Aguiar and Leonardo Torri (Vittoriosa) are therefore ruled out of the weekend’s matches.

Sliema will be lacking Muscat, Gatt Baldacchino and Barbetti for the game against Birkirkara while Caruana and Dimech are ruled out for Valletta in the game against Mosta. Grioli will miss the game against Hibernians. Clyde Borg will miss the Relegation Pool clash against Tarxien while Aguiar and Torri will skip the clash with Rabat.

In Division 1, Dario Arran Zampa (St. Andrews), Thomas Galea (St. George’s) and Matthew Cocks (Zurrieq) were suspended for one match.

Roderick Sciberras (Dingli) and Philip Chircop (Fgura) were both suspended for two matches in Division 2 while Justin Buhagiar (Mdina) and Vince Camilleri (Senglea) were banned for one match.

Roderick Camilleri (Xghajra) was banned for two matches in Division 3 while Justin Cilia (Kalkara), Mark Farrugia and Ennio Desira (Marsaxlokk), Shawn Peplow (Mtarfa) and Martin Portelli (Xghajra) were suspended for one match.