Gozo: St. Lawrence Spurs Second Division champions

Gozo-Football-AssociationSt. Lawrence Spurs were crowned champions of the Melita Second Division in Gozo after beating Ghajnsielem 2-1 in a decisive match at the Kercem Ajax Stadium on Saturday.

The Spurs therefore took the three points they needed to leapfrog Sannat Lions and take the title, with Sannat Lions ending as runners-up. Sannat will therefore play the Promotion/Relegation Play-Off against Munxar Falcons who finished second from bottom in the First Division.

Mambaye Boye was the hero for the Spurs as he put them ahead on the 40th minute and although Ghajnsielem levelled matters through Charlon Tabone on 65 minutes, he notched the winner three minutes in added time.

In another match, Zebbug Rovers beat Qala Saints 3-1 thanks to goals by Pedro Adame Calderon (2) and Manwel Cordina with Alan Cini scoring a consolation goal for the Saints.

Fernando de Andrade ended as top-scorer with 28 goals.