Third edition of the Malta Summer Cup launched

malta-summer-cup2014-launchedThe third edition of the Malta Summer Cup – the pre-season tournament which brings together eight Premier League clubs, earlier known as the AME Cup – was launched on Monday at The Cavalieri Hotel, St. Julian’s. The tournament, which will be sponsored by The Convenience Shop, will be held between July 20 and August 3 at the Luxol Stadium.

Taking part in this year’s edition are Balzan, Floriana, Mosta, Naxxar Lions, Pietà Hotspurs, Qormi, Tarxien Rainbows and Zebbug Rangers.

Qormi, Pietà Hotspurs, Balzan and Naxxar Lions were drawn in Group A while Mosta, Floriana, Tarxien Rainbows and Zebbug Rangers were drawn in Group B.

Photo: Copyright © Joe Borg

Organiser Louis Agius from JPL Sports Events explained that the format will be the same as in the previous two editions of the tournament with matches being controlled by MFA referees.

In case of draws, penalty-kicks would determine the winner who would take two points while the loser would take one point. A winner at the end of the ninety minutes would take three points. In case of two teams ending their commitments on level points, the direct encounter would be taken into consideration.

Agius thanked the sponsors, namely The Convenience Shop, Carlsberg who are sponsoring the Top Scorer Award, Gilette, Mutti, Andy Stowne, Teamsport – Macron and BDI Stores.

All matches would be broadcast on TVM2.

Speaking on behalf of the main sponsor, Manuel Piscopo said it was a pleasure for The Convenience Shop to be linked to a tournament which has now established itself well.

Group A
Sunday 20 July
18:30 Qormi vs Naxxar
20:30 Pietà vs Balzan

Wednesday 23 July
18:30 Qormi vs Pietà
20:30 Balzan vs Naxxar

Saturday 26 July
18:30 Naxxar vs Pietà
20:30 Qormi vs Balzan

Group B
Monday 21 July
18:30 Mosta vs Zebbug
20:30 Floriana vs Tarxien

Thursday 24 July
18:30 Mosta vs Floriana
20:30 Tarxien vs Zebbug

Sunday 27 July
18:30 Zebbug vs Floriana
20:30 Mosta vs Tarxien

Semi-Finals are scheduled for Thursday 31 July while the final and the final for third place are scheduled for Sunday August 3.