New committee for Lija Athletic

lija-athleticLija Athletic F.C. held their Annual General Meeting on Sunday June 8th at the Club’s main premises in Bakery Street, Ħal Lija. The new administrative committee for the forthcoming season was elected by the members, and during the club’s first official meeting all committee members were assigned official roles and duties, whereby Mr. Charles J. Scerri is to once again serve as Club President, after Mr. Jesmond Caruana did not contest for this post at the end of last season.

Samuel Cutajar was confirmed as the Hon. Secretary for the fifth year running, while Saviour Sammut was elected as the Hon. Treasurer, after Antoine Sacco decided to step down from this post. David Formosa and Emanuel Bezzina are the Club’s Vice-Presidents, while Justin Attard was nominated as the Club’s General Co-ordinator. Jeremy Dalli was nominated as Team Manager.

The other members elected in the committee are the following: Carmelo Bonnici (Assistant Secretary), Mark Mallia (Assistant Treasurer), Charles J. Scerri (Council Member), Lawrence Borg (Grounds Manager), Louis Fenech (Club Director), Larken Micallef (Kit Manager), Sunny Scerri, William Mintoff and Mario Camilleri.
As in recent years, the Lija Athletic committee was sectioned into different sub-committees to enhance productivity and its effectivity in the various activities and events organised by the Club.

Meanwhile, Mr. Joe Brincat was confirmed by the new committee as the new coach for the forthcoming season. He shall be assisted by Mr. Eamon Bugeja, who is also the new Under 19 Youths coach. An initial Players Meeting shall be held on Monday 23rd June 2014 at 8.00p.m. at the football club’s main premises.

At the time being, the Lija club is working hard to boost its present squad with new signings, that will be presented in a press conference before the commencement of the First Division campaign 2014/2015.

The club would like to thank heartily Mr. Jesmond Caruana for his sterling work and dedication during his spell as Lija Athletic F.C. President; Mr. Brian Spiteri who also helped the club achieve a historic Semifinal berth in the U*BET FA trophy of Season 2012-2013 during his spell as Lija Athletic F.C. coach, as well as Mr. Antoine Sacco for his professional services and advices as Treasurer of the club.