Ryan Fenech claims Footballer of the Year Award

ryan-fenech-footballer-of-the-year2014JBValletta midfielder Ryan Fenech claimed the Footballer of the Year Award during the MFA Awards 2014 which was held at the National Stadium on Friday.

The other contenders were Jonathan Caruana, also of Valletta and Birkirkara’s Paul Fenech, Edward Herrera and Rowen Muscat.

Photo: Copyright © Joe Borg

Zach Muscat of Birkirkara won the Young Player of the Year Award while another Birkirkara player Jhonnattann Benites da Conceicao won the Foreign Player of the Year Award. Birkirkara coach Paul Zammit claimed the Coach of the Year Award while Edward Herrera’s goal against Hibernians was voted the Goal of the Year.

The BOV Premier League Top Scorer Award was shared between Brazilians Edison Luis dos Santos of Hibernians, Jhonnattann Benites da Conceicao of Birkirkara and Nigerian striker Stanley Ohawuchi of Sliema Wanderers.

Raphael Alain Kooh Sohna of Pietà Hotspurs, Timothy Thomas of Senglea Athletic and Giovanni Galea of Sirens claimed two awards each as they won the Best Player Award and the Top Scorer Award in the BOV First Division, BOV Second Division and BOV Third Division respectively.

Dorianne Theuma (Hibernians) was voted Best Player in the BOV Women’s League while Ylenia Carabott (Hibernians) won the BOV Women’s First Division Top Scorer Award and Francesca Cauchi (Tarxien) won the Women’s Second Division Top Scorer Award.

Jurgen Degabriele of HIbernians claimed the Best Youth Player Award while Ferdinando Apap of Xewkija Tigers won the Gozo FA Player of the Year Award.

The Fair Play Award went to Zabbar St. Patrick.

Former referees Kevin Azzopardi, Paul Caruana, Mariano Debono and Joe Cassar Naudi were presented with the Referees Award.

The President’s Award was presented to the Tournament Director of the UEFA Under-17 Championship Joe Cassar.

Meanwhile the draws for the BOV Premier League 2014/15 were held during the event.

On Match-Day 1, Qormi take on Naxxar Lions, Floriana face Hibernians, Balzan meet Zebbug Rangers, Birkirkara face Pietà Hotspurs while Mosta take on Valletta.