UEFA confirms payments to clubs participating in European competitions

Champions Valletta will be receiving a minimum of €375,000 for their participation in the UEFA Champions League 2014/15 as UEFA confirmed the solidarity payments each club will receive for the early rounds of the major UEFA competitions.

Champions who fail to make it to the group stage will receive a bonus of €200,000 plus €150,000 for being eliminated from the first qualifying round, €175,000 for being eliminated in the second qualifying round and €200,000 for being eliminated in the third qualifying round. Therefore Valletta, who enter the competition in the second qualifying round, will be receiving a minimum of €375,000.

In the UEFA Europa League, Birkirkara, Hibernians and Sliema Wanderers will receive a minimum of €120,000 as they enter the first qualifying round of the competition. If any of the three teams makes it to the second round, the team will receive €130,000.

Sliema Wanderers and Birkirkara take on Hungarian sides Ferencvaros and Diosgyor, Hibernians face Spartak Trnava of Slovakia while Valletta will be meeting Qarabagh of Azerbaijan.