Late goal hands ten-man Hibs victory

Despite playing for eighty-five minutes in ten men, Hibernians managed to turn defeat into victory beating Qormi 2-1 with the decisive goal arriving on the 90th minute. The Paolites therefore join Birkirkara and Mosta with maximum points from two matches.

This win provided an excellent farewell for former Hibernians captain Mario Muscat who was playing his final game while making a record 500th Premier League appearance. Before the game, he was presented with mementos by MFA senior vice-president Ludovico Micallef, Hibernians FC president Tony Bezzina and Hibernians Supporters Club chariperson Charmaine Ellul.

Muscat was handed a place in the startine line-up, replacing Henry Bonello. On the other hand, Qormi had Ghanian international Albert Bruce making his debut. Albert Bruce and Roderick Sammut replaced Anderson Santos and Steve Agius who had started the last game against Naxxar.

Qormi took an early lead as they were awarded a penalty after Rodolfo Soares floored Frank Temile inside the area; referee Clayton Pisani sent off the Brazilian defender and from the penalty spot, Alfred Effiong converted.

Hibernians levelled matters on the 29th minute thanks to Edison Luis dos Santos, served by Jorginho, whose fine shot ended in the bottom left corner behind Matthew Farrugia.

On 33 minutes, Qormi went close once again with Frank Temile whose effort was turned into a corner by Muscat.

Substitute Ryan Micallef tried his luck with a long-distance shot which was parried by Muscat on 76 minutes.

Chaos reigned on the field of play around the 80th minute when a water sprinkler went on as Pietro Viggiani was about to replace a Qormi player with Duncan Pisani initially leaving the pitch instead of Frank Temile.

The game resumed after a few minutes and Hibernians notched the winner on the 90th thanks to a powerful shot from the right by Marcelo Dias which beat goalkeeper Matthew Farrugia.


HIBS Mario Muscat, Keith Tanti, Rodolfo Soares, Rui da Gracia Gomes, Marcelo Dias, Andrew Cohen (85′ Timothy Tabone Desira), Clayton Failla, Bjorn Kristensen, Johann Bezzina (46′ Jackson di Lima Siqueira), Edison Luis dos Santos, Jorge da Silva Pereira (90+3′ Jurgen Degabriele).
Subs not used: Henry Bonello, Jurgen Borg, Dunstan Vella, Zachary Scerri.
Coach: Branko Nisevic

QORMI Matthew Farrugia, Jonathan Bondi, Maurizio Matias Latini Mazzetti, Emerson Vella, Duncan Pisani, Roderick Sammut, Joseph Chetcuti (74′ Ryan Micallef), Zoran Levnaic, Albert Bruce (90′ Bjorn Bondin), Alfred Effiong, Frank Temile (82′ Pietro Viggiani).
Subs not used: Jurgen Cilia, Steve Agius, Alessio Cassar, Carmelo Farrugia.
Coach: Josef Mansueto

Referee: Clayton Pisani
Assistant Referees: Mitchell Scerri, Luke Portelli
Additional Assistant Referees: Chris Lautier, Malcolm Spiteri
Fourth Official: Roberto Vella
Yellow Cards: Effiong, Sammut, Kristensen, Temile, Pisani, Levnaic, Dias, B. Bondin
Scorers: 6′ Alfred Effiong pen (Q); 29′ Edison Luis dos Santos (H); 90′ Marcelo Dias (H)
BOV Player of the Match: Edison Luis dos Santos
Attendance: 1,341