Silvio Vella names squad for final Under-21 championship qualifier

New Malta Under-21 coach Silvio Vella named an eighteen-man squad ahead of Friday’s final UEFA Under-21 Championship qualifier against Turkey.

The team is still chasing its first point in Group 7 after losing the previous seven matches, suffering no less than 27 goals and scoring just two.

Vella took over as Under-21 coach from Ray Farrugia who has now been appointed assistant national coach.

The players selected by Vella are:
goalkeepers Jurgen Borg (Hibs), Yenz Cini (Valletta);
defenders Cain Attard (Pietà), Sacha Borg (Floriana), Emanuel Briffa (Floriana), Louis Cutajar (Hereford), Chrisitan Grech (Pietà), Jurgen Pisani (Pietà), Keith Tanti (Hibs);
midfielders Johann Bezzina (Hibs), Clyde Borg (Floriana), Ryan Camenzuli (Birkirkara), Kyle Cesare (Pietà), Llywelyn Cremona (Valletta), Brooke Farrugia (Floriana);
forwards Lydon Micallef (Balzan), Ryan Micallef (Qormi), Luke Montebello (Valletta).