Heavy defeat for women's national team in Denmark

The Malta Women’s national team lost 8-0 to Denmark in another match from Group 3 of the 2015 FIFA Women’s World Cup qualifying round at the Jokri Park in Vejle.

This was the ninth defeat in as many matches in the group. The team suffered fifty goals and scored none.

Captain Line Røddik put the hosts ahead on the 5th minute when she converted a penalty. Johanna Rasmussen doubled the score on 17 minutes and Mariann Knudsen 3-0 on the 27th. A minute later, Nadia Nadim increased the lead further with Simone Boye Sørensen adding another in stoppage time. Johanna Rasmussen made it 6-0 five minutes in the second half. Nadim 7-0 on 67 minutes and Line Røddik 8-0 on the 89th.

DENMARK Stina Petersen, Line Røddik, Janni Arnth, Sofie Pedersen, Simone Boye Sørensen, Mariann Knudsen (55′ Nanna Christiansen), Theresa Nielsen, Pernille Harder, Katrine Veje (75′ Frederikke Thøgersen), Johanna Rasmussen (56′ Sanne Troelsgaard), Nadia Nadim.

MALTA Keoney Demicoli, Gabriella Zahra, Francesca Chircop (66′ Nicole Buttigieg), Rebecca D’Agostino, Mandy Debono (74′ Kimberly Parnis), Dorianne Theuma, Ylenia Carabott, Antoinette Sammut, Stefania Farrugia, Charlene Zammit, Emma Xuereb (87′ Kelly Pace).

Referee: Elia Martinez (ESP)