FA Trophy: Spartans beat Vittoriosa on penalties to reach third round

Second Division sides Hamrun Spartans, Siggiewi and Swieqi United booked places in the third round of the FA Trophy after registering wins on Friday.

Hamrun Spartans defeated First Division side Vittoriosa Stars on penalties while Siggiewi and Swieqi beat opposition from Division 3.

At the Victor Tedesco Stadium, Hamrun managed to beat Vittoriosa 3-1 on penalties after a 2-2 draw at the end of extra-time.

Vittorio Di Maggio put Vittoriosa ahead on the 11th minute but Hamrun equalised thanks to Ryan Spiteri on the 63rd and managed to forge ahead through Alan Tabone on the 70th. However a penalty by Anthony Eviparker levelled matters four minutes from time to force extra-time.

With no goals being scored in extra-time, even after Gilbert Martin was sent off for Vittoriosa during the first half of extra-time, penalties had to decide the issue, with the Spartans emerging as winners as Alan Tabone, Ryan Spiteri and Saturday Nanapere scored for Hamrun and Michael Camilleri for Vittoriosa. Kenneth Scicluna, Francisco Arriagada Mella and Malcolm Buttigieg missed the Stars’ penalties while Rodney Refalo missed for the Spartans.

In the first match at the Centenary Stadium, Siggiewi defeated Xghajra Tornados 2-1.

Ayrton Buhagiar gave Siggiewi the lead after just two minutes and Stephane Tape doubled the score on the 18th with Matthew Mifsud reducing the gap two minutes from the end of the first half.

In the second match, Swieqi United proved too strong for Kalkara beating them 7-0.

Gabriel Buttigieg put Swieqi ahead on the 13th minute. Leontiev Konda doubled the score seven minutes in the second half and five minutes later, Thomas Thorman made it 3-0. Omar Smeir increased the lead on 66 minutes with Swieqi adding another three goals in the final seven minutes, thanks to Kristian Sultana on the 83rd and a brace by Matthew Fenech on 86 and 88 minutes.