BOV Division 3: Kirkop United take sole leadership

Kirkop United take sole leadership in the BOV Third Division following a 5-1 win over Kalkara in one of the six matches in programme on Sunday.

Michael Zammit put Kirkop ahead on the 8th minute and although Jacob Camilleri converted a penalty to level matters eight minutes in the second half, Michael Zammit scored again on 68 minutes to make it 2-1. Ilyad Scicluna added another on 76 minutes and four minutes later, Zammit scored the fourth goal. Five minutes from time, Michael Theuma sealed the issue with a fifth goal.

Santa Lucia were held in a 1-1 draw by St. Venera Lightnings to fall into third place. Brian Chetcuti put Santa Lucia ahead on the 40th but eleven minutes from time, Jonathan Micallef equalised for the Lightnings.

Mgarr United moved second thanks to a most comfortable 7-2 win over Marsaxlokk. Mark Abela put Mgarr ahead on the half-hour, Oscar Martin Aparicio doubled the score five minutes later and Abela made it 3-0 on the 37th before Christian Tabone scored a fourth goal on the 42nd. Marlon Grech scored twice for Marsaxlokk on the 51st and 54th to put the Southseasiders back into contention but Mgarr had other thoughts, increasing the lead through Colin Gatt on 56 minutes and a brace by Christian Tabone on 59 and 83 minutes.

Mtarfa defeated Ta’ Xbiex 3-1 to move fourth. Daniel Calleja Cremona put Ta’ Xbiex ahead on 27 minutes but goals by Francesco Azzopardi on the half-hour, Shaun Peplow on the 75th and Francesco Azzopardi once again on 87 minutes handed Mtarfa the three points.

Mdina Knights earned another point in a 2-2 draw with Qrendi – the fourth consecutive draw for the Knights. Giulio Sammut put Mdina ahead on the 3rd minute with Bjorn Dalli equalising on the 6th. Cachel Vella made it 2-1 on 19 minutes with Denis di Maio levelling matters on the 55th.

Attard registered a comfortable 3-0 win over Luqa St. Andrew’s. They took the lead through Nick Ghio on the 32nd, Kurt Zahra doubled the score on 41 minutes and Matthew Borg made it 3-0 on the 78th.

Kirkop lead the way with 20 points, followed by Mgarr on 19, Santa Lucia 18, Mtarfa 15, Attard 13, Marsaskala and Qrendi 12, Sta. Venera 9, Marsaxlokk 8, Mdina 6, Kalkara and Luqa 5 and Ta’ Xbiex 3.