Four Premier League players suspended

Four Premier League players were handed a one-match ban by the MFA Disciplinary Commissioner following the weekend’s matches.

David Fenech and Frank Temile (Naxxar), Orosco Anonam (Pietà) and Lee Galea (Zebbug) are therefore ruled out of the first game from the third round in two weeks’ time.

In Division 1, Matthew Borda (Zurrieq) was banned for 5 matches, George Chircop (Gudja) for four, Isaac Galea (Gudja) for three while Julian Briffa (Birzebbuga), Jonathan Bugeja (Fgura), Beppe Antignolo (Lija), Mauro Bonnici (Mqabba), Mead Mifsud and Stephen Azzopardi (Zurrieq) were suspended for one match.

Mark Vassallo (Dingli), Brian Zammit and Dino Bonnici (Marsa), Luke Cauchi (Mellieha), Zachary Bowman and Jesmar Briffa (San Gwann), Ayrton Buhagiar and Nathan Caruana (Siggiewi) and Roderick Zerafa (Xghajra) were suspended for one match in Division 2 while in Division 3, Shawn Peplow (Mtarfa) was suspended for two matches with Gordon Failla (Luqa), Marlon Grech (Marsaxlokk), Giulio Sammut (Mdina) and Gerald Ancilleri (Sta. Venera) all banned for one match.