Women’s national team loses to Cyprus

Malta lost 1-2 to hosts Cyprus in another match from Group B of the Aphrodite Cup at the Peyia Municipal Stadium on Friday.

Margarita Sofocleus put Cyprus ahead on the 15th minute but Dorienne Theuma converted a penalty on the 32nd minute to level matters. However the hosts notched the winner eleven minutes from time through substitute Violari.

Mark Gatt’s side plays the third and final match from the group against Bahrain on Bahrain. The latter lost 4-0 to Azerbaijan in another match on Friday.

Meanwhile in Group A, Greece and Latvia registered their second win as they beat the United Arab Emirates 7-0 and Lebanon 6-0 respectively.

MALTA Janice Xuereb, Gabriella Zahra (Claudette Xuereb), Yasmeen Vella (Rosalie Cauchi), Stephania Farrugia, Dorienne Theuma, Ylenia Carabott (Martina Borg), Rachel Cuschieri, Shona Zammit (Emma Xuereb), Jade Flask, Charlene Zammit, Brenda Borg.