Ghedin names final squad for Georgia friendly, Azerbaijan EURO qualifier

National coach Pietro Ghedin named the final twenty-three man squad ahead of the international friendly match against Georgia in Tbilisi on March 25 and the EURO qualifier against Azerbaijan in Baku on March 28.

Four new faces could make their debut as Nigerian-born striker Alfred Effiong, Floriana midfielder Conor Borg, Ryan Camenzuli of Birkirkara and Pietà’s Jurgen Pisani were all included in the final squad.

The three players to be dropped were Sliema goalkeeper Glenn Zammit and Hibernians duo Clayton Failla and Joseph Mbong. Failla withdrew from the squad for personal reasons.

Effiong, who has been living in Malta since 2005, was granted Maltese citizenship last month, therefore rendering him eligible to play for the national team.

Ryan Camenzuli and Jurgen Pisani were prominent members of the Malta Under-21 squad while Conor Borg, who seems on the verge of joining Roma this summer, and Joseph Essien Mbong were members of the Malta Under-17 side which hosted the UEFA Under-17 Championship finals last May.

Steve Borg will be back after serving a suspension but Michael Mifsud is still ruled out after being sent off in the game against Italy.

The players selected by Ghedin are:
goalkeepers Justin Haber (Birkirkara), Henry Bonello (Hibernians), Andrew Hogg (Kalloni);
defenders Andrei Agius (Hibernians), Steve Bezzina (Balzan), Steve Borg (Valletta), Jonathan Caruana (Valletta), Ryan Camenzuli (Birkirkara), Ryan Camilleri (Valletta), Jurgen Pisani (Pietà), Zach Muscat (Birkirkara);
midfielders Conor Borg (Floriana), Roderick Briffa (Valletta), Paul Fenech (Birkirkara), Ryan Fenech (Valletta), Bjorn Kristensen (Hibs), Rowen Muscat (Birkirkara), Steve Pisani (Floriana), Mark Scerri (Sliema);
forwards Andrew Cohen (Hibs), Alfred Effiong (Qormi), Jean Paul Farrugia (Hibs), Andre Schembri (Omonia Nicosia).