Futsal: Mellieha secure promotion to Premier League

Mellieha were the second team to secure promotion to the Premier Division after trouncing Siggiewi 11-0 in a decisive game after another programme was played from the First Division.

The North seasiders produced a lively display with Bulgarian Nikolay Filipov in the limelight after hitting five goals. Robert Magro’s brace, Daniel Saliba, Darren Aitchinson and an own goal added more goals for Mellieħa who also secured the runner-up spot.

Meanwhile, leaders Lija Athletic opened a six-point gap at the top of the table after seeing off Naxxar Lions 2-0.

Naxxar tried to offer a good reaction but were not so dangerous in front of goal. Floren Manea and Zeljko Anicic were on the mark for Lija.

With the top two teams already ensured of a Premier Division berth next season, another place will be decided between the third, fourth and fifth team in the play-offs to be played at the end of this month. Despite losing, Naxxar Lions have already booked a place in this contest.

Attard have also confirmed a spot in the play-offs after a comfortable 4-1 victory over Mqabba. Kevin Loughborough, Adrian Lee, Clayton Farrugia and Matthew Buttigieg were the goal-getters for Attard with Etienne Rodo scoring Mqabba’s consolation goal.

Msida St. Joseph seem close to obtain the final play-off spot after a laboured 5-4 victory over Qrendi. Two braces by Zvezdan Vukovic and Marian Gologan, together with a goal scored from Chris Cutajar helped Msida grab their fourth win on the trot. Antonello Brincat, Steve Shead, Fabian Vella and Sam Vella reduced the score for Qrendi.

Bottom placed Birzebbuga St. Peter’s stunned Luqa St. Andrew’s 6-1 in a match which highlighted the progress made in the last part of the season by Silvio Mifsud’s boys who had inspirational players Jean Paul Abdilla, Andrea Cutajar and Peter Mark Cachia hitting the target twice. Robert Portelli reduced the score for Luqa.

First Division: Lija 57, Mellieha 51, Naxxar 39, Attard 36, Msida 33, Mdina 28, Luqa 24, Mqabba 21, Sirens 19, Qrendi 17, Siggiewi 12, B’Bugia 8