BOV Division 3: Decider necessary to determine championship as Mgarr, Kirkop register wins

A decider is necessary to determine the BOV Third Division championship as Kirkop United and Mgarr United ended their commitments on top with 42 points.

Mgarr United beat Attard 4-1. Mark Abela gave Mgarr an early lead, on the 7th minute and six minutes in the second half, Ryan Vella converted a penalty to double the score. Rodney Galea pulled one back for Attard on the 69th but goals by Mark Abela nine minutes from time and James Borg three minutes later sealed the issue for Mgarr.

On the other hand, Kirkop United defeated Marsaskala 3-0.

Dylan Rapinett put Kirkop ahead on 18 minutes, Endrit Kaca doubled the score on the 47thth and Matthew Caruana sealed the issue with a third goal on the hour.

Qrendi beat Ta’ Xbiex 5-2. Antoine Sacco put Qrendi ahead on the 7th minute and Clive Caruana doubled the score thanks to a penalty on the 14th. One minute from the end of the first half, Antoine Sacco added another with Dylan Zarb making it 4-0 four minutes in the second half. Ta’ Xbiex reduced the gap with goals by Allister Bezzina on the 57th and Steven Hyzler on the 75th but Antoine Sacco made it 5-2 eleven minutes from time.

Mohammed Senussi scored four as Santa Lucia beat Kalkara 4-0 to increase his tally but it was not enough to take the title of top scorer. Senussi scored on the 8th, 24th, 34th and 37th.

Mtarfa and St. Venera Lightnings shared the spoils in a 2-2 draw. A brace by Francesco Azzopardi on the 9th and 26th put Mtarfa two goals ahead but Gerald Ancilleri pulled one back on the 36th and Mark Grech equalise on the 57th.

In another match, Mdina Knights and Luqa St. Andrew’s drew 1-1.

Kirkop and Mgarr lead the way with 52 points, followed by Qrendi on 48, Attard and Santa Lucia 41, Marsaskala 36, Mtarfa 34, Sta. Venera 33, Kalkara 26, Mdina 24, Marsaxlokk and Luqa 18 and Ta’ Xbiex 7.