Seventeen awards at stake in MFA Awards 2015

Seventeen awards will be presented during the MFA Awards 2015 which will be held at the Mediterranean Conference Centre, Valletta, on Friday.

The awards at stake are the Footballer of the Year, BOV First Division Best Player, BOV Second Division Best Player, BOV Third Division Best Player, BOV Women’s League Best Player, Youth League Best Player, Young Player of the Year, Coach of the Year, Fair Play Award, BOV Premier League Top-Scorer, BOV First Division Top-Scorer, BOV Second Division Top-Scorer, BOV Third Division Top-Scorer, BOV Women’s League Top-Scorer, Best Foreign Player, Goal of the Year and The President’s Award.

Addressing a press conference at the Centenary Hall on Monday, MFA General Secretary Bjorn Vassallo said that this event will bring to an end season 2014/15 which featured the 100th league organised by the Malta Football Association, dominated by Hibernians and an entertaining clash between the Paolites and Birkirkara in the FA Trophy, won by the latter.

Vassallo thanked all match officials, administrators, players, technical staff and supporters for their contribution to the game throughout the season and said that organising such a large number of games in the various leagues and knock-out competitions was the result of planning and hard work.

MFA Vice-President and Chairman of the MFA Awards Dr Chris Bonnett said that the theme behind this year’s event will be the celebration of the 100th league and the 20th women’s league.

He said that this event brings together all the football family and the general public has the opportunity to vote in the category of the Goal of the Year through SMS voting – until Wednesday for the ten short-listed goals and during the event for one of the five goals which make it to the final.

mfa-awards-2015-awardThe event will be presented by Joanna Camilleri, Clinton Buhagiar and Christian Micallef and will be broadcast live on TVM2. A guest for the event will be former Italy international player Nicola Berti.

Dr Bonnett thanked the sponsors, namely Bank of Valletta, TVM, Mediterranean Conference Centre and Island Caterers. He also thanked the other members of the committee for this event, namely Deputy General Secretary (International & Events) Joe Cassar, Treasurer Ivan Mizzi. Peter Cossai from PBS, Alan Cutajar and Christian Micallef.


MFA Footballer of the Year
Agius Andrei (Hibernians)
Cohen Andrew (Hibernians)
Failla Clayton (Hibernians)
Fenech Paul (Birkirkara)
Muscat Zach (Birkirkara)

Coach of the Year
Nisevic Branko (Hibernians)
Spiteri Oliver (Balzan)
Zammit Paul (Birkirkara)

Young Player of the Year
Barry Hamza (Valletta)
Bezzina Johann (Hibernians)
Camenzuli Ryan (Birkirkara)

Foreign Player of the Year
Da Silva Jorge Pereira (Hibernians)
Dos Santos Edison Luis (Hibernians)
Kaljevic Bojan (Balzan)

BOV First Division Best Player
Laudisi Ariel (Pembroke Athleta)
Ruiz Perez Juan Manuel (Fgura United)
Sammut Peter Paul (Gudja United)

BOV Second Division Best Player
Fagbeja Muda (Gharghur)
Obaje Aud-Gustine James (Senglea Athletic)
Thomas Timothy (Senglea Athletic)

BOV Third Division Best Player
Sytnik Denis (Marsaskala)
Telessi Mohammed Senussi (Santa Lucia)
Zammit Michael (Kirkop United)

BOV Women’s League Best Player
Farrugia Stephania (Birkirkara)
Theuma Dorianne (Hibernians)
Zammit Shona (Hibernians)

Best Youth League Player
Brincat James (Mosta)
Cremona Llywelyn (Valletta)
Degabriele Jurgen (Hibernians)

GFA Player of the Year
Antunes Pavlidis Claudio (Nadur Youngsters)
Bogdanovic Daniel (Xewkija Tigers)
Camilleri John (Xewkija Tigers)