Four First Division teams reach FA Trophy third round

Four First Division clubs secured a place in the third round of the FA Trophy as the first four second round matches were played on Friday

A goal by Felix Udoh Okon on the 34th gave San Gwann a narrow win over Gudja United in a clash between two First Division sides at the Victor Tedesco Stadium.

Rabat Ajax defeated Second Division side Msida St. Joseph 4-1. Following a goalless first half, a brace by Francesco Azzopardi on the 52nd and on the hour put Rabat two goals ahead and Nicolai Attard made it 3-0 on the 75th before Ryan Tanti pulled one back for Msida on the 79th. However Wayne Borg restored a three-goal lead for the Magpies seven minutes from time.

At the Centenary Stadium, First Division leaders Gzira United defeated Second Division side Sirens 6-0. Moises Avila Perez put the Maroons ahead on the 23rd and converted a penalty on the 37th before Louis Rene Zome scored a third goal on the 39th. Yanis Tonna made it 4-0 four minutes in the second half, Simon Shead 5-0 on the 68th and Jonathan Bondin sealed the issue with a sixth goal on the 75th.

In another match, Zebbug Rangers beat Qrendi 4-1.

Another eight second round matches will be played on Saturday and the final eight matches will be played on Sunday.

Premier League clubs enter in the third round which will be played in December. The draws will be held on Tuesday.

Sat-24-Oct 15:00 Centenary Stadium Zejtun Corinthians vs Marsaxlokk
Sat-24-Oct 17:15 Centenary Stadium Melita vs Mgarr United
Sat-24-Oct 15:00 Charles Abela Stadium Siggiewi vs Fgura United
Sat-24-Oct 17:15 Charles Abela Stadium Sta. Venera Lightnings vs Birzebbuga St. Peter’s
Sat-24-Oct 15:00 Sirens Stadium Marsa vs Xewkija Tigers
Sat-24-Oct 17:15 Sirens Stadium Kirkop United vs Mtarfa
Sat-24-Oct 15:00 Luxol Stadium Zurrieq vs Gharghur
Sat-24-Oct 17:15 Luxol Stadium Swieqi United vs Ta’ Xbiex
Sun-25-Oct 15:00 Centenary Stadium Vittoriosa Stars vs Kercem Ajax
Sun-25-Oct 17:15 Centenary Stadium Senglea Athletic vs Pietà Hotspurs
Sun-25-Oct 14:00 Gozo Stadium Ghajnsielem vs Dingli Swallows
Sun-25-Oct 16:00 Gozo Stadium S.K. Victoria Wanderers vs St. Laurence Spurs
Sun-25-Oct 15:00 Sirens Stadium Mqabba vs Victoria Hotspurs
Sun-25-Oct 17:15 Sirens Stadium Zabbar St. Patrick vs Nadur Youngsters
Sun-25-Oct 15:00 Victor Tedesco Stadium Lija Athletic vs Mellieha
Sun-25-Oct 17:15 Victor Tedesco Stadium Hamrun Spartans vs St. George’s