Women’s Under-17 side to take part in UEFA Women’s Under-17 Championship qualifiers

Malta will be taking part for the first time in the UEFA European Women’s Under-17 Championship and was drawn in Group 2 of the qualifying round along with Sweden, Greece and Montenegro. The draw, involving forty-four of the forty-five participating countries aiming to join hosts the Czech Republic in the finals, was held on Friday.

Greece will be hosting the Group 2 mini-tournament which will be played between the 6th and 11th October.

The top two in each group and the third-placed team with the best record against the leading pair in their section accompany top seeds Spain into the 24-team elite round.

Group 1 (20–25 September): Switzerland, Denmark, Slovakia, Israel*
Group 2 (6–11 October): Sweden, Greece*, Montenegro, Malta
Group 3 (8–13 October): Poland, Hungary*, Azerbaijan, Estonia
Group 4 (21–26 October): Norway, Netherlands, Bulgaria, Moldova*
Group 5 (26–31 October): Italy, Finland, Portugal*, Georgia
Group 6 (10–15 October): France, Scotland*, Croatia, Kazakhstan
Group 7 (2–7 October): Germany, Turkey, Wales, Latvia*
Group 8 (24–29 October): England, Russia, Slovenia, Lithuania*
Group 9 (26 September–1 October): Belgium, Serbia*, Romania, Ukraine
Group 10 (26–31 October): Republic of Ireland*, Iceland, Belarus, Faroe Islands
Group 11 (30 September–5 October): Austria, Northern Ireland, Bosnia and Herzegovina, FYR Macedonia*

Bye to elite round: Spain
Bye to final tournament: Czech Republic (hosts)