FA Trophy: Comfortable wins for Gzira, Melita and Pietà

First Division clubs Gzira United, Melita and Pietà Hotspurs and Second Division leaders Gharghur secured a place in the fourth round ofhte FA Trophy after emerging as winners in the four third round matches in programme on Wednesday.

First Division leaders Gzira United defeated Zabbar St. Patrick from Division Two 3-0 at the Victor Tedesco Stadium. Yannis Tonna put the Maroons ahead on the 17th and a minute later and Jonathan Bondin doubled the score. Ekele Udojoh sealed the issue with a third goal five minutes from time.

Gzira United take on Swieqi United or St. Andrews in the fourth round.

Pietà Hotspurs defeated another Second Division side Zejtun Corinthians 4-1 also the Victor Tedesco Stadium. Kyle Cesare converted a penalty on the 12th minute to put the Hotspurs ahead and Zsolt Kecskes doubled the score on the 29th. Five minutes in the second half, James Scicluna made it 3-0 and Neil Pace Cocks added another on the 69th. Four minutes later, Jair Nelson Escobar Ortiz scored a consolation goal for Zejtun.

The Hotspurs face St. George’s in the next round.

Second Division side Gharghur defeated Third Division side St. Venera Lightnings 2-0 at the Centenary Stadium. Isaac Chircop put Gharghur ahead on the 22nd minute and Kevin Camilleri doubled the score eleven minutes in the second half.

In the fourth round, Gharghur will be facing the winners of the clash between Vittoriosa Stars and Sliema Wanderers.

Melita came from behind to beat Rabat Ajax 4-1 as they scored four in the final twenty minutes in a clash between two First Division sides in another match at the Centenary Stadium. Wayne Borg put Rabat ahead on the 27th minute. Alan Borg Olivier levelled matters on the 70th. Five minutes later, Michael Cachia made it 2-1 and Ivan Tufegdzic added another two goals on the 80th and 86th to seal the issue.

The Amateurs will be facing Balzan or Fgura United in the fourth round.

Wednesday 09 December 2015
18:00 Floriana vs St. Laurence Spurs (Victor Tedesco Stadium)
20:15 Birkirkara vs Kirkop United (Victor Tedesco Stadium)
18:00 Pembroke Athleta vs San Gwann (Centenary Stadium)
20:15 Balzan vs Fgura United (Centenary Stadium)

Tuesday 15 December 2015
18:00 Swieqi United vs St. Andrews (Victor Tedesco Stadium)
20:15 Mosta vs Hibernians (Victor Tedesco Stadium)

Wednesday 16 December 2015
18:00 Zebbug Rangers vs Tarxien Rainbows (Victor Tedesco Stadium)
20:15 Vittoriosa Stars vs Sliema Wanderers (Victor Tedesco Stadium)
18:00 Qormi vs Ghajnsielem (Centenary Stadium)
20:15 Naxxar Lions vs Lija Athletic (Centenary Stadium)

Wednesday 06 January 2016
19:00 Xewkija Tigers vs Valletta (Gozo Stadium)