FA Trophy: Four Premier League clubs through to fourth round

Balzan, Birkirkara, Floriana and Pembroke Athleta secured a place in the fourth round of the FA Trophy as they all emerged as winners in the four third round matches in programme on Wednesday.

Birkirkara found no difficulty in disposing off Second Division side Kirkop United, beating them 6-0 at the Victor Tedesco Stadium. Frank Temile put the Stripes ahead on the 13th and Fabrizio Miccoli doubled the score seven minutes from the end of the first half. Two minutes later, Temile made it 3-0. Vito Plut increased the lead two minutes in the second half. Juan Quero Barraso scored the fifth goal on the 59th and five minutes later, Zach Muscat sealed the issue with a sixth goal.

The Stripes will be meeting Xewkija Tigers or Valletta in the fourth round.

Balzan defeated First Division side Fgura United 2-1 at the Centenary Stadium. Lydon Micallef opened the score on the 34th and Godwin Mensha doubled the score two minutes in the second half. Steven Sandoval Escobar pulled one back for Fgura on the 65th.

Balzan take on First Division side Melita in the next stage.

In another match at the Centenary Stadium, Pembroke Athleta beat San Gwann 3-0. Gustavo Villalobos put Pembroke ahead on the 14th and ten minutes later, Peter Paul Sammut doubled the score. Ariel Laudisi made it 3-0 on the 59th.

Pembroke Athleta face Mosta or Hibernians in the next round.

At the Victor Tedesco Stadium, Mauricio Villa was the hero for Floriana as he notched a hat-trick in a 3-0 win over Gozitan First Division side St. Laurence Spurs. Villa opened the score on the 14th, doubled the score on the 42nd and scored a third goal on the 74th.

The Greens face Naxxar Lions or Lija Athletic in the fourth round.