Five Premier League players suspended

Five Premier League players were handed a one-match ban by the MFA Disciplinary Commissioner following the weekend’s matches.

Gilmar da Silva Ribeiro and Jonathan Pearson (Hibs), Paltemio Barbetti (Pembroke), Stefano Bianciardi (Sliema) and Michael Mifsud (Valletta) are therefore ruled out of the weekend’s matches.

Gilmar, Pearson and Bianciardi are ruled out of Hibs-Sliema, Barbetti will miss the clash with Floriana while Mifsud skips the game against Mosta.

In Division 1, Martin Hrubsa (Hamrun) was banned for three matches while McAllister Clinch (Lija), Neil Pace Cocks (Pieta), Jan Tanti (San Gwann) and Carmelo Farrugia (St. George’s) and Gudja official Michele Caruana were banned for one match. Lija president Marc Sant was suspended for four matches.

In Division 2, Dylan Attard (Msida), Mark Farrugia (Qrendi), Justin Zammit (Sirens), Samuel Buhagiar (Zabbar) and Ryan Cauchi (Zejtun) were banned for one match while Qrendi team manager Carmel Farrugia was banned for two matches.

Christian Briffa (Marsaskala) was handed a three-match ban in Division 3 while Kurt Zahra and Jurgen Gerada (Attard), Jonathan Xerri, Darren Cristina and Clinton John Camilleri (Kalkara), Isaac Zammit Cordina (Mtarfa), Luke Agius (Santa Lucia) and Glenn Micallef (St. Venera) and Ghaxaq official Guido Agius were banned for one match.