Hibernians crush hapless Naxxar

After hitting seven goals past Naxxar Lions in the second round, Hibernians moved a step even further as they defeated them 8-0 at the National Stadium. The Paolites dominated right from the start, scoring four in each half to return to winning ways after dropping two points in a draw with Sliema Wanderers last week.

For Naxxar, this was the fourth consecutive defeat. They now share the pen-ultimate place with St. Andrews.

An own goal by Andrew Scicluna put the Paolites ahead on the 15th minute as his desperate attempt to clear the ball into safety following a shot by Jorginho saw the ball hit the foot of the post before ending at the back of the net.

Jurgen Degabriele doubled the score on the 22nd when he received a back-heel pass by Gilmar and hit low past Gallinetta.

Two minutes later, Jurgen Degabriele added another when he beat the Naxxar defence on the run and slammed the ball home.

Alvaro Javier Hungria Rosero committed an own goal as he deflected a shot by Jorginho on the 33rd minute for the Paolites’ fourth goal.

Gilmar da Silva Ribeiro converted a penalty on the 63rd minute after Ishmael Grech handled the ball inside the area.

Two minutes later, Jurgen Degabriele made it 6-0 as he hit home from close range when served by Cohen from the right.

Andrew Cohen scored a seventh goal on the 70th placing the ball at the back of the net from close range after Jurgen Degabriele rounded the goalkeeper.

Ten minutes from time, Jorge da Silva Pereira made it 8-0 with a lob following a cross by Cohen from the right.

NAXXAR Alberto Gallinetta, Alvaro Javier Hungria Rosero, Andrew Scicluna, Eduardo Vallecillo, Daren Falzon (87′ Ayrton Senna Azzopardi), Duane Bonnici (78′ Adam Pace), Joel Ellul (85′ Gianluca Grima), Jurgen Debono, Ishmael Grech, David Fenech, Nikola Tasic.
Subs not used: Luke Pecorella, Francesco Gauci, Connor Azzopardi, Clayton Falzon.
Coach: Clive Mizzi

HIBS Justin Haber, Jackson di Lima Siqueira (61′ Dunstan Vella), Rodolfo Soares (65′ Diosdado Mbele Mangue Mba), Marcelo Dias, Andrew Cohen, Bjorn Kristensen, Andrei Agius, Jurgen Degabriele, Joseph Essien Mbong (61′ Clayton Failla), Jorge da Silva Pereira, Gilmar da Silva Ribeiro.
Subs not used: Rudy Briffa, Jonathan Pearson, Zack Scerri, Edison Luis dos Santos.
Coach: Branko Nisevic

Referee: Marco Borg
Assistant Referees: Duncan Sultana, Thomas Debono
Fourth Official: Stefan Pace
Yellow Cards: Scicluna, Tasic
Scorers: 15′ own goal Andrew Scicluna, 22′ Jurgen Degabriele, 24′ urgen Degabriele, 33′ own goal Alvaro Hungria Rosero, 63′ Gilmar da Silva Ribeiro pen, 65′ Jurgen Degabriele, 70′ Andrew Cohen, 80′ Jorge da Silva Pereira
BOV Player of the Match: Gilmar da Silva Ribeiro

St. Andrews joined Naxxar Lions on the seven-point mark, two ahead of Qormi as they scored a late goal to beat neighbours Pembroke Athleta 3-1 at the Victor Tedesco Stadium.

For Pembroke, this was the third defeat in the last four matches after defeating Qormi last week.

The Saints had a perfect start, taking the lead on the 6th minute when off an assist by Enmy Manuel Pena Beltre, Jonatan Perez Cuesta slotted the ball past goalkeeper Mario Muscat.

Pembroke, however, equalised on the 16th minute when they were awarded a penalty after Michael Johnson floored Manolito Micallef inside the area and from the penalty spot, Ariel Laudisi converted.

Three minutes from time, St. Andrews notched the winner when a Lucky Victor Oseghale effort hit the foot of the upright and off the rebound, substitute Kyrian Nwoko hit past the helpless Mario Muscat.

Two minutes in added time, the Saints sealed the issue with a third goal when Perez Cuesta served substitute Matteo Desira Buttigieg on the right and the latter slotted the ball past Muscat.

ST. ANDREWS Jake Galea, Enmy Manuel Pena Beltre, Dale Camilleri, Bong Won Che, Jonatan Perez Cuesta, Lucky Victor Oseghale (90′ Matteo Desira Buttigieg), Michel Wisdom Salomon Aka, Joseph Farrugia, Chinatu Francis Onwudinjo, Michael Johnson (83′ Kyrian Nwoko), Eloy Edu Nkene.
Subs not used: Dorian Bugeja, Jacob Walker, Clyde Cumbo, Liam Grech, Ryan Sammut.
Coach: Jose Borg

PEMBROKE Mario Muscat, Zoran Levnaic, Alex Cini (90′ Gustavo da Paulo da Nobrega), Rennie Tanti (61′ Obinna Obifuele), Owen Bugeja, Manolito Micallef, Paltemio Barbetti, Siraj Arab Eddin (78′ Terence Agius), Ariel Laudisi, Gustavo Villalobos, Kyle O’Brien.
Subs not used: Matthew Farrugia, Leighton Grech, Tyron Fenech, Geoffrey Spiteri.
Coach: Winston Muscat

Referee: Mario Apap
Assistant Referees: Mitchell Scerri, Martin Borg
Fourth Official: Philip Farrugia
Yellow Cards: Barbetti, Onwudinjo
Scorers: 6′ Jonatan Perez Cuesta, 16′ Ariel Laudisi pen, 87′ Kyrian Nwoko
BOV Player of the Match: Enmy Manuel Pena Beltre