BOV Division 1: Hamrun Spartans promoted, St. George’s relegated

Hamrun Spartans defeated Melita 5-0 at the Victor Tedesco Stadium to secure promotion to the BOV Premier League in one of the four BOV First Division on Sunday.

Haruna Garba put the Spartans ahead on the 4th minute and just before half-time, Alan Tabone converted a penalty to double the score. Rodney Refalo made it 3-0 on the 57th, Haruna Garba 4-0 on the 62nd and Glenn Azzopardi 5-0 on the 66th.

Gzira United stay top as they came from behind to beat Fgura United at the Centenary Stadium. Ricardo Costa put Fgura ahead on the 34th but one minute later, Ian Zammit levelled matters. Raphael Kooh Sohna notched the winner on the 75th.

San Gwann maintained alive hopes of avoiding relegation as they defeated Mqabba 2-0 at the Victor Tedesco Stadium. A win which puts them just three points behind Fgura United and Melita. Jesmar Briffa opened the score on the 56th and Jan Tanti secured victory with a second goal on the 74th.

St. George’s, on the other hand, were condemned to playing in Division 2 next season after they only managed to earn a point in a 3-3 draw by bottom-placed Gudja United at the Centenary Stadium. Adrian Cutajar put Gudja ahead on the 32nd and Wisdom Ifeanyi levelled matters on the 35th. However Darren Sciberras restored the lead for Gudja two minutes from the end of the first half and Didier Sohna extended the lead on the 59th. Nine minutes from time, Abdul Rezak Mendy reduced the gap and three minutes in added time, Karl Conti notched the equaliser for St. George’s.

Gzira lead the way with 58 points, followed by Hamrun on 57, Senglea 48, Pietà 43, Lija 37, Vittoriosa 33, Mqabba and Zebbug 32, Rabat 29, Fgura and Melita 26, San Gwann 23, St. George’s 19 and Gudja 9.