BOV Division 1: Gzira United crowned champions

Gzira United were crowned champions of the BOV First Division as they defeated St. George’s 4-0 at the Centenary Stadium on Saturday.

Jamie Pace put Darren Abdilla’s side ahead and Ian Zammit doubled the score with top-scorer Raphael Alain Kooh Sohna adding another before half-time. Gabriel Aquilina made it 4-0 after the break.

Hamrun Spartans finished as runners-up as they defeated Zebbug Rangers 1-0 at the Victor Tedesco Stadium thanks to a goal by Jake Grech on the 33rd minute.

Gzira ended their commitments with 64 points, followed by Hamrun on 61, Senglea 51, Pietà 44, Lija 40, Vittoriosa 36, Mqabba and Zebbug 32, Rabat and Fgura 30, Melita 27, San Gwann 24, St. George’s 19 and Gudja 9.

After the game, Gzira were presented with the BOV First Division Cup by Anthony Scicluna, Chief Officer at Bank of Valletta and Dr Chris Bonett, Vice President of the Malta Football Association