BOV Division 2: Marsa declared champions

Marsa were crowned champions in the BOV Second Division as they beat Gharghur 2-1 in a decisive match on Saturday with Sirens losing with an identical score to Mgarr United.

At the Luxol Stadium, Marsa came from behind to beat Gharghur 2-1. Muda Fagbeja put Borislav Giorev’s side ahead on the 10th minute. However Benjamin Ayuba converted a penalty to equalise on the 28th and eleven minutes later, Benjamin Ayuba made it 2-1.

Sirens, who shared the top spot with Marsa before Saturday’s games, suffered a shock 1-2 defeat to Mgarr United at the Charles Abela Stadium. Kenneth Aquilina on the 9th minute and Lazar Doric on the 58th put Mgarr two goals ahead with Ryan Sciberras pulling one back for Sirens on the 64th.

After the game between Marsa and Gharghur, Marsa were presented with the BOV Second Division Cup by Charles Azzopardi, Head PR and Marketing at Bank of Valletta and Ludovico Micallef, Vice President of the Malta Football Association.

Zabbar St. Patrick defeated Zejtun Corinthians 4-1 at the Sirens Stadium. Julio Cesar Souza Martines put Zabbar ahead on the 10th minute and seven minutes later, Dylan Micallef doubled the lead. Kumpei Tanaka pulled one back for Zejtun just before half-time but goals by Julian Spiteri on the 57th and Dillon Pace on the 89th extended the lead further for Atanas Marinov’s side.

Swieqi United defeated Msida St. Joseph 3-1 at the Charles Abela Stadium. Abner dos Santosscored twice on 28 and 41 minutes to put Swieqi two goals ahead and Matteo Caribotti added another on the 75th. Marko Dimitrijev scored a consolation goal for Msida one minute from time.

A goal one minute in added time by Luca Casha gave Qrendi a narrow win over Siggiewi at the Luxol Stadium.

Kirkop United and Mellieha shared the spoils in an entertaining 3-3 draw at the Sirens Stadium. For three times, Kirkop took the lead but each time, Mellieha equalised. Alex Ribic put Kirkop ahead on the 6th minute. Wayne Borg St John equalised on the 27th but Josef Felice made it 2-1 for Kirkop on the 36th. Kalil da Rosa levelled matters for Mellieha on the 62nd and although Karl Caruana scored a third goal for Kirkop, Ryan Zammit restored the equilibrium on the 77th.

Marsa ended their commitments on the 57-point mark, followed by Sirens on 54, Gharghur 53, Zabbar 51, Mgarr 43, Siggiewi and Birzebbuga 39, Zejtun and Qrendi 35, Mellieha 32, Swieqi 26, Kirkop 20, Zurrieq 13 and Msida 5.