Valletta celebrate championship following 1-1 draw with Hibernians

Valletta celebrated the 23rd championship in the history of the club with a 1-1 draw with runners-up Hibernians at the National Stadium in a clash which wrapped up the BOV Premier League for season 2015/16.

Both sides failed to impress during the first half although Hibernians created better chances. However during the first half, the newly-crowned champions forged ahead with the Paolites being quick to equalise five minutes later.

The Paolites had the first attempt at goal on the 26th when Gilmar served Jorginho from the right but the latter’s effort was blocked by Bonello. Two minutes later, a diagonal shot by Jhonnattann from the right scraped past the post.

Just before half-time, Bonello performed another good save on Jorginho eff an assist by Dias. A freekick by Ian Azzopardi ended just over the bar in added time.

Eleven minutes in the second half, Jhonnattann tried his luck with a shot from the left which was neutralised by Haber.

Valletta managed to break the deadlock on the hour when Abdelkarim Nafti sent Fedrico Falcone through and the latter advanced into the area before hitting past the Hibs goalkeeper.

Five minutes later, Hibs equalised when off a cross by Andrew Cohen from the left, Marcelo Dias headed home past goalkeeper Henry Bonello.

Malta Football Association President Norman Darmanin Demajo and Bank of Valletta Chief Officer Patrick Spiteri Swain presented the medals to the players, technical staff and officials and the trophy to captain Jonathan Caruana.

VALLETTA Henry Bonello, Jonathan Caruana, Ian Azzopardi, Ryan Camilleri, Juan Cruz Gill, Roderick Briffa, Federico Falcone, Claudio Pani, Uchenna Calistus Umeh (59′ Romeu Pericles Romao), Jhonnattann Benites da Conceicao (75′ Michael Mifsud), Abdelkarim Nafti (74′ Llywelyn Cremona).
Subs not used: Nicky Vella, Daniel Camilleri, Jean Borg, Jurgen Suda.
Coach: Paul Zammit

HIBS Justin Haber, Rodolfo Soares, Andrei Agius, Jonathan Pearson, Marcelo Dias (84′ Joseph Essien Mbong), Clayton Failla, Bjorn Kristensen, Jackson di Lima Siqueira, Andrew Cohen (72′ Jurgen Degabriele), Gilmar da Silva Ribeiro, Jorge da Silva Pereira.
Subs not used: Jurgen Borg, Diosdado Mbele Mangue, Daniel Buckle, Zach Scerri, Dusntan Vella
Coach: Branko Nisevic

Referee: Mario Apap
Assistant Referees: Mitchell Scerri, Roberto Vella
Additional Assistant Referees: Esther Azzopardi, Glen Tonna
Fourth Official: Paul Apap
Yellow Cards: Nafti, Umeh, Agius, Kristensen, Jorginho, Camilleri
Scorers: 60′ Federico Falcone, 65′ Marcelo Dias
BOV Player of the Match: Federico Falcone
Attendance: 5,408


Comments are closed.