Jean-Marc Bosman special guest at the MFPA Awards 2016

The Malta Football Players Association is honoured to announce Mr Jean-Marc Bosman as a special guest for the upcoming MFPA awards which will be held on Monday at the Xara Lodge, Rabat.

Jean Marc Bosman is renowned in the world of football for the famous ‘Bosman Ruling’. He fought and won in front of the European Court of Justice, against the transfer fee at the end of a contract, effectively giving players the right to move to any team they want without financial repercussions.

While the world of football complied to the Bosman ruling, 26 years later Malta is still behind the curve, insisting on an out of date and unjust rule. MFPA is at the forefront fighting for the change that is needed in this area.

Last week, MFPA announced a number of nominees. The following are some other awards and respective nominees that will be given out on the night.

MFPA Best Coach Award:
– Luis Oliveira
– Jacques Scerri
– Paul Zammit

MFPA Best Referee Award:
– Alan Mario Sant
– Esther Azzopardi
– Trustin Farrugia-Cann

MFPA Best Futsal Player Award:
– Dejan Bizjak
– Frane Despotovic
– Raphael Felipe Ortiz de Oliveira

MFPA Best Female Player Award:
– Charlene Zammit
– Shona Zammit
– Stephania Farrugia

MFPA Best First Division Player Award:
– Augustine James Obaje
– Haruna Garba
– Raphael Kooh Sohna