Roderick Briffa is MFA Footballer of the Year 2015/16

Valletta and Malta international midfielder Roderick Briffa won the MFA Footballer of the Year Award during the MFA Awards 2016 which was held at the Mediterranean Conference Centre on Friday.

The other finalists were Valletta defender Jonathan Caruana, Balzan’s Alfred Effiong and Lydon Micallef and Bjorn Kristensen of Hibernians. This was the second time, Briffa won the award after being voted Footballer of the Year in season 2010/11.

Valletta coach Paul Zammit won the award as Coach of the Year after leading the Citizens to the championship.

Hibernians midfielder Gilmar da Silva Ribeiro was voted Foreign Player of the Year while Jurgen Degabriele, also of Hibernians, won the Young Player of the Year and the Best Youth League Player.

Edmond Agius’ goal for Birkirkara against Hibernians, which effectively handed the championship to Valletta, won the award for Goal of the Year.

MFA Footballer of the Year Briffa Roderick (Valletta)
Coach of the Year Zammit Paul (Valletta)
Young Player of the Year Degabriele Jurgen (Hibernians)
Foreign Player of the Year Da Silva Ribeiro Gilmar (Hibernians)
Goal of the Year Agius Edmond (Birkirkara)
BOV First Division Best Player Obaje Aud-Gustine James (Senglea Athletic)
BOV Second Division Best Player Fagbeja Muda (Gharghur)
BOV Third Division Best Player Florin Anton (Ghaxaq)
BOV Women’s League Best Player Farrugia Stephania (Birkirkara)
Best Youth League Player Degabriele Jurgen (Hibernians)
GFA Player of the Year Bajada Shaun (Ghajnsielem)
Futsal Player of the Year Milijic Jovica (Valletta)
Top Scorers
  BOV Premier League: Fontanella Mario (Floriana)
  BOV First Division League: Kooh Sohna Raphael (Gzira)
  BOV Second Division League: Fagbeja Muda (Gharghur)
  BOV Third Division League: Senussi Telessi Mohammed (Santa Lucia)
  BOV Women’s First Division League: Carabott Ylenia (Hibs)
  BOV Women’s Second Division League: Farrugia Maria (Gozo)
Fair Play Award Rabat Ajax
Referees Awards Reno Refalo, Andre Arciola, Adrian Azzopardi and Marco Borg
Refereeing Lifetime Achievement Award Tommy Restall
The President’s Award Carmel Baldacchino