Five candidates for the role of MFA vice-president

MFAFive candidates have submitted their nomination for the posts of MFA Vice-President as the association’s Annual General Meeting will be held at the Grand Hotel Excelsior on Saturday 30th July.

Apart from the three current vice-presidents – Dr Chris Bonnett, Alex Manfre and Ludovigo Micallef, the other two candidates are Birzebbuga St. Peter’s vice-president Dr Angelo Chetcuti and former Hamrun Spartans secretary Victor Cassar.

MFA President Norman Darmanin Demajo and Honorary Treasurer Ivan Mizzi are uncontested.

The officials are elected for a period of three years.

Meanwhile ten of the Ordinary Members of the Executive Committee are already known – Dr Ian Micallef and Paul Spiteri will be representing Premier League clubs, Joe Sammut and Lawrence Seychell First Division clubs, Dr Angelo Chetcuti and Raymond Micallef Second Division clubs, Silvio Galea and Paul Sammut Third Division clubs, Dr Samuel Azzopardi the Gozo Football Association and Joe Micallef the Youth Football Association.

Elections are necessary for two members to represent Member Clubs in General where Joe Borg, Michael Cutajar, Paul Falzon and Mauro Miceli have submitted their nomination and for two members to represent Member Associations where Lino Bartolo, Perit Mark Borg, Joseph B. Grech and Frans Muscat have submitted their nomination.