Ten-man Tarxien eliminate Balzan after extra-time

Tarxien Rainbows came from behind to beat last season’s finalists Balzan 2-1 in the quarter-finals of the FA Trophy at the National Stadium on Sunday.

The Rainbows, who had eliminated First Division sides Gharghur and Lija Athletic in the previous round, went one goal down but after equalising and having a player sent off, held on well to force extra-time. In the second half of extra-time, they notched the winner to secure a place in the semi-finals.

Balzan managed to take the lead three minutes from the end of the first half when off a shot by Bojan Kaljevic, Ebiabowei Baker anticipated Lydon Micallef, deflecting the ball past goalkeeper Andrea Cassar.

However six minutes in the second half, Tarxien levelled matters thanks to a Triston Caruana penalty after Samir Arab brought Alex Nilsson down inside the area.

Triston Caruana was however sent off fourteen minutes from time after receiving a second yellow card, leaving the Rainbows in ten men.

With the game still draw at the end of the ninety minutes, the match went into extra-time and nine minutes in the second half of extra-time, Tarxien forged ahead when a cross shot by Alex Nilsson, the ball was deflected by Samir Arab past goalkeeper Janjusevic for an own goal.

[gallery_bank type=”images” format=”masonry” title=”true” desc=”false” responsive=”true” display=”all” sort_by=”random” animation_effect=”bounce” album_title=”true” album_id=”38″]

BALZAN Ivan Janjusevic, Samir Arab, Bojan Kaljevic, Elkin Serrano Valero, Steve Bezzina, Alan da Silva Souza (62′ Matteo Piciollo), Dylan Grima, Lydon Micallef (68′ Alfred Effiong), Paul Fenech, Milos Lepovic, Ryan Fenech (95′ Abdelkarim Nafti).
Subs not used: Christian Cassar, Sean Cipriott, Terence Agius, Clive Brincat.
Coach: Oliver Spiteri

TARXIEN Andrea Cassar, Ebiabowei Baker, Emerson Marcelina, Triston Caruana, Daniel Ponce de Leon Garcia (78′ Julian Galea), Alex Nilsson, Sergio Fernandez Prendes (46′ Ayrton Azzopardi), Daniel Zerafa, Alex da Paixo Alves (107′ Sacha Borg), Matthew Tabone, Kurt Zammit.
Subs not used: Philip Schranz, Matthew Brincat, Dylan Micallef, Andrew Agius.
Coach: Jesmond Zerafa

Referee: Trustin Farrugia Cann
Assistant Referees: Alan Camilleri, Edward Spiteri
Fourth Official: Philip Farrugia