Five Premier League players suspended

Five Premier League players were suspended by the MFA Disciplinary Commissioner following the weekend’s matches.

Gonzalo Malan (Birkirkara), Enzo Ruiz and Ignacio Varela (Floriana), Clifford Gatt Baldacchino (Gzira) amd Matthew Calleja Cremona (Pembroke) are therefore ruled out of this weekend’s matches.

Floriana will therefore lack Ruiz and Varela for the game against Tarxien; Malan will be unavailable for the clash with Sliema; Gatt Baldacchino will skip the clash with Mosta while Calleja Cremona is ruled out of the match against Hibernians.

Meanwhile Hamrun Spartans team manager Etienne Vella was banned for one match.

In Division 1, Isaac Chircop (Gharghur), Paul Chimezie (Mqabba), Lubos Adamec (Naxxar), Darko Medic (Qormi), Ryan Micallef and Dylan Falzon (Rabat) were banned for one match while Juan Manuel Ruiz Perez (Pietà) was suspended for two matches. Gharghur official Mark Pullicino was also banned for two matches.

In Division 2, Kim Buhagiar (Siggiewi) was handed a three-match ban, Bjorn Bondin (Qrendi) was suspended for two matches while Damon Grima (Birzebbuga), Mark Anthony Ellul and Davide Mula (Ghaxaq), Russell Marmara and Gianluca Theuma (Mgarr), Dylan Zarb (Qrendi), Shalon Diacono and Gabriel Bonavia (Zabbar) and Mauro Brincat (Zejtun) were suspended for one match.

Zabbar coach Alfred Attard and Ghaxaq assistant coach Rennie Zahra were banned for two matches while San Gwann goalkeepers’ coach Malcolm Grech and Siggiewi official Clifford Vassallo were suspended for one match.

Joshua Sciarrino (Dingli), Justin Tonna and Malcolm Luke Vassallo (Mdina) and Dylan Darmanin (Zurrieq) were handed a one-match ban in Division 3.