Bjorn Kristensen wins MPFA Best Player

The MFPA Awards ceremony, celebrates the beautiful game and the players that are at the very heart of it. In its 4th edition, organised by the Maltese Football Players Association, and held at the Limestone Heritage – Siggiewi, on Monday, the ceremony was attended by football’s local elite.

Hosted by ex-football player Ben Camille, together with Deandra Agius, the ceremony saw, 24 awards given to the best talent in local football, as decided by their peers. Local band, Airport Impressions, provided a live musical reprieve.

In an address that highlighted the advancements achieved through MFPA’s collaboration with MFA’s Social Dialogue Board, General Secretary – Carlo Mamo, called on to football fans to embrace the changes proposed by MFPA, for the proper development of football Players. MFPA has been calling for the removal of the Parametres system for years. Such a system, he said, discriminates maltese players, because it is illegal elsewhere in the world. It hampers local talent and obstructs the progress of Maltese football. Progress, he said, can not be achieved without change.

MFPA executive member and Maltese National Player Gareth Sciberras, won a place in the MFPA’s Best XI, i.e the dream team, after a positive performance in his very last competitive football season.

Jurgen Degabriele was overwhelmingly chosen as the MFPA Best Young player, effectively identified as the future bright promise of Maltese football.

The evening culminated to the most prestigious award of the night, with Bjorn Kristensen crowned as the undisputed MFPA Best Player for season 2016/2017. He becomes the first to take home the stunning new trophy, launched especially by the MFPA for its most significant award. Kristensen, visibly proud with this achievement thanked the Association for the award, and his peers for the recognition.

A complete list of winners on the night:
MPFA Best Coach: Mark Miller
MPFA Best Referee: Alan Mario Sant
MPFA Best First Division Player: Juninho Cabral
MPFA Best Female Player: Stephania Farrugia
MPFA Best Futsal Player: Everton Da Silva Santos
MPFA Best Young GoalKeeper: Jake Galea
MPFA Best Young Defender: Daniel Zerafa
MPFA Best Young Midfielder: Jake Grech
MPFA Best Young Forward: Jurgen Degabriele
MPFA Best XI Goalkeeper: Dziugas Bartkus
MPFA Best XI Left Back: Leandro Aguirre
MPFA Best XI Right Back: Marcelo Dias
MPFA Best XI Central Back: Rodolfo Soares, Jonathan Caruana
MPFA Best XI Midfielder: Bjorn Kristensen, Jackson Lima, Alan Da Silva Souza, Gareth Sciberras
MPFA Best XI Forward: Jean Paul Farrugia, Bojan Kaljevic
MFPA Special Award: Swieqi United
MFPA Merit Award: Tony Gambin
MPFA Best Young Player Overall: Jurgen Degabriele
MPFA Best Player Overall: Bjorn Kristensen