BOV Premier League 2017/18: Champions Hibernians face St. Andrews in opening match

Champions Hibernians will be facing St. Andrews on Match Day 1 as the draws for the BOV Premier League 2017/18 were held at The Trophies Lounge at the National Stadium on Monday.

Balzan take on newly-promoted Naxxar Lions, Valletta face Mosta, Birkirkara cross swords with Floriana. First Division champions Lija Athletic will face Gzira United while the other newly-promoted side Senglea Athletic take on Sliema Wanderers. Tarxien Rainbows meet Hamrun Spartans in the other game of Match Day 1.

MFA General Secretary Dr Angelo Chetcuti revealed that as from this season, a new trophy for the BOV Premier League will be presented to the champions. The trophy is being manufactured by world-renowned trophy maker and silversmiths Thomas Lyte who also manufactured the FA Trophy last year. The trophy should be ready by September.

Dr Chetcuti thanked Bank of Valletta, saying that this was a partnership rather than a sponsorship. He said that the fact that BOV is linked to several sports disciplines is a clear sign of their commitments towards sport in Malta.

He said that following a hard fought league last season, this coming season will be another interesting competition.

Photos: Copyright © domenic aquilina

Bank of Valletta Chief Business Officer Kenneth Farrugia said the partnership between the MFA and BOV enters its thirteenth year. He said sport was an integral part of the bank’s Corporate Social Responsibility. In fact, the bank was not only sponsoring major sport like basketball and waterpolo but also other sport like bowling and yachting.

Matches will be played at the National Stadium, Hibernians Stadium, Centenary Stadium and Victor Tedesco Stadium as follows: one match on a Friday; four matches on a Saturday and two matches on a Sunday or two matches on a Saturday and four matches on a Sunday.

At the end of the regular season, the team ending first shall be declared the Champion of the Premier League and the team placed second shall be declared as the Runner-Up.

The teams placing thirteenth and fourteenth would be relegated to the First Division while the team placing twelfth would be playing against the team placing third in the First Division.

Club 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13
A Balzan B D E H I L M N K J G F C
B Naxxar L. A E I M K G C D H L N J F
C Hibernians D H L N J F B E I M K G A
D St. Andrews C A H L N J F B E I M K G
E Sliema W. F B A I M K G C D H L N J
F Senglea A. E I M K G C D H L N J A B
G Tarxien R. H L N J F B E I M K A C D
H Hamrun S. G C D A L N J F B E I M K
I Valletta J F B E A M K G C D H L N
J Mosta I M K G C D H L N A F B E
K Birkirkara L N J F B E I M A G C D H
L Floriana K G C D H A N J F B E I M
M Lija A. N J F B E I A K G C D H L
N Gzira U. M K G C D H L A J F B E I