MFA Executive Committee members elected

The members of the Executive Committee for the year 2017/18 were elected during the Malta Football Association’s Annual General Meeting which was held at the Grand Hotel Excelsior on Saturday.

The only elections necessary were those to determine the Council members to represent Member Clubs in general and the Council members to represent the other Member Associations apart from the GFA and YFA as the number of candidates to represent Premier, First, Second and Third Division clubs, the Youth FA and the Gozo FA matched the number of vacancies.

Michael Cutajar (St. George’s) and Paul Falzon (St. Andrews) were elected to represent Member Clubs in general after obtaining 63 votes and 65 votes respectively. Valletta’s Paul Spiteri missed out for just one vote after polling 62 votes.

On the other hand, Lino Bartolo and Mark Borg will be representing the Member Associations after obtaining 59 votes and 70 votes respectively. Francis Muscat (IASC) obtained 56 votes.

The Council Members for the year 2017/18 are therefore:
– Dione Borg (Floriana) and Dr Ian Micallef (Gzira United) for the Premier Division;
– Joseph Sammut (Pietà Hotspurs) and Lawrence Seychell (Vittoriosa Stars) for the First Division;
– Raymond Micallef (Attard) and Mark Pullicino (Gharghur) for the Second Division;
– Silvio Galea (Mdina Knights) and Cory Greenland (Marsaskala) for the Third Division;
– Michael Cutajar (St. George’s) and Paul Falzon (St. Andrews) for Member Clubs in general;
– Joe Micallef for the Youth FA;
– Dr Samuel Azzopardi for the Gozo FA;
– Lino Bartolo (District Football League) and Mark Borg (Futsal Malta Association) for the other Member Associations.

Another item on the agenda was the approval of amendments to the statute. Two amendments were approved: The first concerned applications by new member clubs who now have to inform the association of their intention to apply by the 31st December. The second concerned Article 64 – The Complaints Board where now the chairman will be chosen in agreement between the representatives of the member clubs and the representatives of the MFPA from amongst a pool of three persons proposed by the Association.

Distinguished guests for the Annual General Meeting were UEFA Head National Associations Governance Angelo Rigopoulos and FIFA Director for Member Associations (Europe) and former MFA General Secretary Bjorn Vassallo. Both addressed the Council members and delegates present.