Utrecht beat Valletta 3-1 to reach third round

Valletta were eliminated from the UEFA Europa League after losing 3-1 to FC Utrecht in a match from the second leg of the second qualifying round at the Mandemakers Stadion in Waalwijk on Thursday. The Dutch side therefore moves on to the third qualifying round with a 3-1 aggregate score.

The hosts held the initiative right from the start, taking the lead thanks to a goal by Sean Klaiber on the 18th minute with a great first time effort from outside the area following a short clearance.

Willem Janssen doubled the score on the 76th minute when he headed the ball home off a Zakaria Labyad corner from the right.

Zakaria Labyad made it 3-0 with a rising shot from the left following a cross by Klaiber seven minutes from time.

Valletta scored a consolation goal on the 88th minute thanks to Santiago Malano following a Claudio Pani corner.

UTRECHT David Jensen, Mark van der Maarel, Gyrano Emilio Kerk (62′ Cyriel Dessers), Yassine Ayoub, Simon Makienok, Zakaria Labyad, Willem Janssen, Sean Klaiber, Sander Van De Streek, Wout Brama (85′ Ramon Leeuwin), Edson Braafheid (86′ Urby Emanuelson).

VALLETTA Henry Bonello, Steve Borg, Ryan Camilleri, Juan Cruz Gill, Santiago Malano, Michael Mifsud (71′ Kyrian Nwoko), Joseph Zerafa (87′ Jean Borg), Claudio Pani, Maxi Velasco, Uchenna Umeh, Romeu Romao (58′ Roderick Briffa).

Referee: Ian McNabb (NIR)
Assistant Referees: Stephen Bell, Georgios Argyropoulos (NIR)
Fourth official: Steven Taylor (NIR)