Draws for Youth FA competitions for season 2017/18

The draws for the Under-17 and the Under-15 Leagues and Knock-Outs organised by the Youth Football Association were held on Friday.

YFA General Secretary Joe Micallef welcomed all the represented nurseries and expressed the satisfaction that the vast majority of the nurseries had accepted the introduction of the insurance for the players with an open mind, and was looking forward to see it improve over the years. The Secretary General then gave a brief overview of the changes in the competition rules.

Alex Pace, YFA Officer in charge of Fixtures, who explained in detail the competitions’ formats, participating teams and seedings, before proceeding to the draws.

YFA Vice president Robert Attard informed those present that the competitive season starts on Saturday 26th August, while the next YFA scheduled event was on Thursday 3rd August, with the Annual Presentation Night.

Photo: Copyright © www.stephengatt.com

Under-15 League
Group A: San Gwann, Gozo, Sliema Wanderers.
Group B: Floriana, Balzan, Attard.
Group C: Mosta, Birkirkara, Mellieha.
Group D: Pietà Hotspurs, Naxxar Lions, Zebbug Rangers.
Group E: St. Andrews, Hamrun Spartans, Luqa St. Andrew’s.
Group F: Paola Hibs, Kirkop United, Pembroke Athleta.
Group G: Valletta, Zabbar St. Patrick, Tarxien Rainbows.
Group H: Melita, Qormi, Lija/Iklin.

Under-17 League
Group A: Birkirkara, Balzan, Zejtun Corinthians.
Group B: Mosta, Tarxien Rainbows, Birzebbuga Windmill.
Group C: San Gwann, Melita, Kirkop United.
Group D: Pietà Hotspurs, Hamrun Spartans, Fgura United.
Group E: Valletta, Zabbar St. Patrick, Rabat Ajax.
Group F: Paola Hibs, Qormi, Sliema Wanderers.
Group G: St. Andrews, Zebbug Rangers, Luqa St. Andrew’s.
Group H: Floriana, Pembroke Athleta, Swieqi United.


Under-15 Knock-Out

First Preliminary Round
A Sirens vs Mgarr United
B Zurrieq Wolves vs Swieqi United

Second Preliminary Round
C Winner Match A vs Siggiewi
D Winner Match B vs Xghajra Tornados
E Marsaxlokk vs Marsa
F Rabat Ajax vs Marsaskala
G Fgura United vs Mqabba
H Sta. Venera United vs Mtarfa
I Ghaxaq vs Msida St. Joseph
J Zejtun Corinthians vs Gzira United

First Round
Lija-Iklin vs Winner D
Qormi vs San Gwann
Pietà Hotspurs vs St. Andrews
Bazan vs Winner H
Winner J vs Naxxar Lions
Valletta vs Hamrun Spartans
Pembroke Athleta vs Melita
Winner G vs Winner I
Winner C vs Zebbug Rangers
Winner F vs Birkirkara
Gozo vs Winner E
Kirkop United vs Mellieha
Zabbar St. Patrick vs Floriana
Mosta vs Paola Hibs
Luqa St. Andrew’s vs Tarxien Rainbows
Sliema Wanderers vs Attard

Under 17 Knock-Out

Preliminary Round
A Attard vs Mellieha
B Mqabba vs Ghaxaq
C Marsaxlokk vs Gzira United
D Sta. Venera United vs Mgarr United
E Xghajra Tornados vs Naxxar Lions
F Marsaskala vs Sirens
G Msida St. Joseph vs Lija / Iklin
H Mtarfa bye

First Round
Fgura United vs Tarxien Rainbows
San Gwann vs Pembroke Athleta
Zebbug Rangers vs Paola Hibs
Luqa St. Andrew’s vs Qormi
Zejtun Corinthians vs Balzan
Mtarfa vs Winner G
Winner C vs Winner F
Kirkop United vs Melita
Mosta vs Winner E
Swieqi United vs Pietà Hotspurs
Valletta vs Winner B
Winner A vs Floriana
Hamrun Spartans vs Birzebbuga Windmill
Rabat Ajax vs Sliema Wanderers
St. Andrews vs Zabbar St. Patrick
Birkirkara vs Winner D