Luxol off to Austria for UEFA Futsal Cup commitments

Futsal reigning Champions and last season’s Super Cup winners, Luxol Futsal, will be travelling to Linz in Austria on Monday to compete in Group C of the Qualifying Round for the UEFA Futsal Cup.

During the past few weeks in preparation for this important event, the team has been working very hard to strengthen the squad, as we believe we will try and do our best of becoming the first Maltese team to make it from this qualifying round of the UEFA Futsal Cup.

The 16-man squad features a number of foreign players with great experience in the top level of international Futsal, including top Norwegian goalkeeper, Kenneth Rakvaag, who played 67 times for his country.

The squad also includes a good number of highly rated players from Croatia, the likes of Kristijan Grbesa, Nikola Perkovic and Hrvoje Penava, who will all be part of this squad. With them, Brazilian player with great experience in the Lebanon league and other parts of the world and Hamrun Futsal in Malta as well, Rogerio dos Santos.

The squad led by player coach Frane Despotovic and captain Mark Zammit also includes highly rated Maltese players with great experience in our domestic league, such as Gian Carlo Sammut, Glenn Bonello, Andy Mangion and as goalkeepers Clint Mifsud and Matthew Xerxen.

As part of the build up towards this important event overseas, last week Luxol Futsal team and officials led by club Chairman Joseph Aquilina and President Mario Vella, met the Hon. Prime Minister of Malta Joseph Muscat. During the visit, Luxol Futsal presented Prime Minister Muscat with a team shirt and a picture of last season’s winning.

Luxol Futsal will be playing in Group C of the Qualifying Round of the UEFA Futsal Cup that will also include KMF Shkupi from Macedonia, Maccabi Tel Aviv of Israel and FC Diamant Linz of Austria who are hosting this qualifying tournament.

Luxol Futsal’s final 16-man squad, for Qualifying Round of UEFA Futsal Cup.

Goalkeepers – Kenneth Rakvaag (Norway), Clint Mifsud (Malta), Matthew Xerxen (Malta).
Players – Celino Alves (Brazil), Kristijan Grbesa (Croatia), Frane Despotovic (Croatia), Rogerio dos Santos (Brazil), Gian Carlo Sammut (Malta), Mark Zammit (Malta), Glenn Bonello (Malta), Nikola Perkovic (Croatia), Emil Andrei Raducu (Romania), Andy Mangion (Malta), Hrvoje Penava (Croatia), Zvezdan Vukovic (Serbia) William Barbosa (Brazil).
Coach & Assistant – Frane Despotovic (Croatia) Zeljko Anicic
Physical Trainer – Alan Simovcic